Europe Travel News

Lithuania Imposes Quarantine Requirement for Unvaccinated Travellers Arriving From Ireland, Belgium & Greek Islands

Lithuanian authorities have announced that all travelers from Ireland, Belgium and the Greek Islands who have not been vaccinated or had the disease in the past six months will be subject to quarantine requirements, based on the newly updated list of COVID-19 affected countries.

This decision, which takes effect from Monday 25 July, was taken after the two countries and Greek islands were added to the red category.

Except for newly added countries, the red category also includes the following EEA countries:

Denmark Spain, including Tenerife, Gran Canaria and Mallorca Cyprus Liechtenstein Luxembourg Malta Netherlands Portugal, excluding Madeira Switzerland Regions of France: Corsica, Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Reunion

This means that all people coming from Ireland, Belgium, any Greek island (except Thassos) or from the above countries need to fill out an arrival form 48 hours before entering Lithuania and submit a negative COVID-19 test result.

In addition, everyone must remain in self-isolation for ten days, with the possibility of shortening the quarantine period after the seventh day by submitting a second negative coronavirus test result, reports.

The Lithuanian Ministry of Health has confirmed that testing and quarantine requirements do not apply to people who have been vaccinated against COVID-19 or who have recovered from the disease.

“These requirements do not apply to travelers who have contracted COVID-19 or have been vaccinated against this disease according to the full vaccination schedule within 180 days and more than 14 days have passed since the last required vaccination,” the ministry statement said.

The same ministry also announced that the Czech Republic and Italy will now be part of the yellow category, which means that those who have not been vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19 need to submit a negative test result before entering and undergo a second coronavirus test three to five days after Access. Everyone is also required to fill out an access form.

The ministry indicated that “two tests are mandatory for those coming from the yellow zone: before the trip and 3-5 days after arrival.”

In contrast, people arriving in the Baltic state from countries classified in the green category are only required to submit a negative test result provided they have not been vaccinated or recovered from the disease.

Lithuania’s green category currently includes Austria, Bulgaria, Estonia, Thassos Island, Iceland, Latvia, Poland, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary and Germany.

Previously, the Lithuanian Ministry of Health announced that testing and quarantine requirements would no longer apply to children under 12 years old, regardless of the danger zone they were traveling from.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No