Schengen Visa News

Lithuania Has Extended Border Control Until April 13


Lithuania has prolonged border management on its borders with Latvia and Poland till a minimum of April 13th, the Lithuanian Ministry of Interior has introduced. The choice is an try and ceases the unfold of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

Foreign nationals are not allowed to cross Lithuanian borders until they need to pass through Lithuania to transit to their dwelling nation

However, starting from April 14, transit through Lithuania will not be allowed under any circumstances. This also includes fellow EU nationals, the Interior Ministry of Lithuania announced on Wednesday through a press release.

“State border control at the neighboring Republics of Poland and Latvia has been extended to make sure a ban on foreigners getting into the country during the quarantine interval. Short-term border controls were restored on 14 March,” the press release reads among others.

Lithuanian residents getting back from overseas need to self-isolate for a minimum of 14 days after entering. They’ve additionally been suggested to keep away from all non-essential journeys abroad.

Lithuania initially launched border checks on March 13, in a sequence of measures taken in order to halt the spread of the coronavirus.  As per EU guidelines, an EU country can re-introduce internal borders on the Schengen Zone for a preliminary period of 10 days and then extended it for another 20 days. The extension was ordered by Minister of the Interior Rita Tamašunienė on March 24, 2020.

General, the internal borders of an EU country can not stay closed for longer than two months.

On March 17, the EU decided to close the external borders of the Schengen Zone for 30 days, restricting entry to all non-EU citizens. However, almost all EU countries have now reintroduced internal border checks as well and banned entry for foreign nationals, especially towards the most “high-risk” EU countries.

Whereas COVID-19 cases in China are declining by the day, Europe is now the epicenter of the disease, resulting in the first time that the European Commission has introduced border checks on the border-free Schengen Zone.

Italy, Spain, Germany, France, and Switzerland have been hit the hardest, however, all other EU countries have reported infections as well.

US President Donald Trump also announced earlier in March that European Union nationals are not allowed to enter the US until mid-April at least.

Schengen News

Schengen Visa

Enable Notifications    OK No