Schengen Visa News

Lithuania Facilitates Entry Restrictions for 3 Spanish Islands & French Guiana

From Monday, December 13, travelers from three Spanish islands – Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria – and the French Overseas Ministry in French Guiana will be subject to soft entry restrictions upon arrival in Lithuania.

The decision was announced by the Lithuanian Ministry of Health in a press release issued on Friday, December 9, and means that travelers from these regions are no longer obligated to quarantine upon their arrival in Lithuania.

“From Monday, December 13, three islands in the Kingdom of Spain will be moved from the red zone in the list of countries affected by the infection of the Coronavirus: Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria, and the French Overseas Administration of French Guiana,” the ministry explains, noting that these Countries are now included in the yellow list.

Yellow List passengers, like the others, are required to fill out the online registration form within 48 hours before the start of the flight and then show the confirmation (QR code) to the carrier before departure.

When traveling by private transport, travelers must show the QR code to staff of the National Public Health Center (LPHC) of Lithuania or other officers at the border checkpoint or passenger checkpoint, reports.

At the same time, yellow category travelers must show evidence of vaccination against COVID-19 or previous recovery from the virus upon arrival in Lithuania. If they do not have evidence of this type, they are obligated to show negative results for a COVID-19 test taken prior to departure.

“A PCR test for COVID-19 must be performed within 72 hours before entering Lithuania with a negative result, an antigen test must be performed within 48 hours before entering Lithuania with a negative result. A document proving the negative test must be submitted to the carrier before the flight,” the ministry explains.

It also notes that travelers under the age of 16, as well as those arriving in the country on humanitarian grounds, do not need to provide test results. However, those are required to be tested for COVID-19 within 24 hours upon arrival in Lithuania.

Last week, reported that Lithuania has removed Malta and French Guiana from its yellow list of countries, placing them on the red list. This means that French Guiana was part of the Red List for only one week. On the other hand, Malta remains part of the red list for at least another week.

Lithuania updates country categories according to their infection rates based on data from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) every Friday. The new restrictions will take effect the following Monday.

Currently, there are no countries on the green list of Lithuania, while the yellow list consists of Spain’s Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria, as well as only the French island of Mayotte and French Guiana.

While Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe are placed on a special list due to the spread of the variant Omicron virus, the rest of the world is marked in red and grey.

>> Everything you need to know before traveling to Lithuania amid COVID-19

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No