Europe Travel News

Lithuania Announces Stricter Travel Rules for All Countries Due to Worsened COVID-19 Situation

After warnings that the European continent could be hit by another wave of COVID-19 in the coming weeks, the Lithuanian authorities announced that stricter entry rules will now apply to all incoming travelers.

This declaration has been made since all EU member states as well as other third countries have been placed on Lithuania’s high-risk list, meaning that no region is any longer part of the orange or green category.

In last week’s update, only Malta was part of Lithuania’s Green List. However, the Lithuanian Ministry of Health announced that since the epidemiological situation in Malta has deteriorated, as of Monday, November 22, the latter will turn orange.

With the exception of Malta, through the same update that was made today, it was revealed that the Spanish islands of Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria will also be moved from the green list to the yellow list.

Likewise, the Portuguese autonomous region of Madeira and the French island of Reunion will move to the red list from Monday, reports.

From Monday, November 22, the islands of Fuerteventura, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Madeira and Reunion will be moved to the red list of countries affected by the Corona virus. With Malta moving into the yellow zone, there are no more states in the green zone anymore,” the Ministry of Health said in a statement.

Lithuania currently has a color-coded system for separating countries into different categories based on their coronavirus status, which means that the restrictions travelers have to follow upon entry depends on which category their destination country is placed in.

Travelers from Red List countries who have not been vaccinated or recovered from COVID-19 are required to follow a ten-day quarantine requirement upon arrival in Lithuania.

Except for the self-isolation rule, unvaccinated and non-exhausted travelers also need to be tested for COVID-19. The result of the PCR test should not be more than 72 hours, while the rapid antigen test must be performed within 48 hours prior to arrival.

On the other hand, the ministry clarified that travelers from European Union countries who have been vaccinated or recovered from the virus are not required to follow entry rules, such as quarantine.

Earlier today, reported that the European Union’s health agency had advised that everyone refrain from travel to the majority of member states. Germany, the Netherlands, Greece, Austria and the Czech Republic are just some of the countries designated as dark red countries by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control.

>> Travel around Europe with an antigen test

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No