Europe Travel News

Latvia Abolishes Entry Restrictions for Arrivals From Spain & Vatican City

Travelers from Spain and the Vatican City State can now enter Latvia without having to follow entry rules as the two countries have been placed on the Green List.

According to the latest update by the Latvian Center for Disease Prevention and Control, the country’s authorities have noted that Spain and the Vatican City state have recorded less than 75 cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 inhabitants in the past two weeks.

On average, Spain has reported 72 positive cases over the past two weeks, while the Vatican City state has not reported any new cases, reports.

For this reason, since November 30, all people who have been fully vaccinated against the virus, as well as those who have recovered from the disease, are allowed to travel to Latvia for non-essential purposes without having to follow the test requirements.

In addition, vaccinated and recovered travelers are exempt from the requirement to self-isolate as long as the vaccination or refund certificate is valid.

Similarly, authorities in Latvia have made it clear that non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Spain and the Vatican City State are also allowed to enter the country for non-essential purposes.

However, they are required to have a PCR test within 72 hours prior to entry or a rapid antigen test within 48 hours prior to their arrival.

With the exception of the two EU countries, travelers from many non-EU countries are also on the green list.

Latvia’s green list currently includes all three of these countries: South Korea, Colombia, Qatar, New Zealand, Peru, Argentina, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Namibia, Rwanda, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, and Taiwan. The list also includes Macau and Hong Kong, which are currently subject to reciprocity.

At the same time, through the same update, the authorities in Latvia revealed that all other EU/Schengen area countries are included in their orange list.

Of all the countries currently colored in orange, Slovenia, Slovakia, Austria and the Czech Republic have the highest infection rates.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), over the past seven days, Slovenia has reported 22529 cases, Slovakia 51,239 cases, Austria 98,301 cases, and the Czech Republic 107,304 new cases.

Vaccinated and recovered travelers arriving in Latvia from one of the Orange List countries are not required to follow any entry rules. In return, those who have not recovered or been vaccinated against the virus must undergo a COVID-19 test and remain isolated for ten days.

However, everyone can shorten the quarantine period by submitting a negative coronavirus test result on the seventh day.

>> Protests erupt across Europe against COVID-19 passports and other restrictions

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No