Schengen Visa News

Italy to Ease Travel Rules for EU Citizens From February 1

Italy’s Health Minister, Roberto Speranza, announced on Wednesday that from February 1, Italy will ease COVID-19 restrictions for all travelers from European Union countries.

The minister signed an order stating that all visitors from the European Union will be allowed into the country by offering only a Green Pass, reports.

The Green Pass is a document that proves whether a person has been vaccinated, recovered, or tested negative recently.

This means that all EU citizens who present one of the above certificates will soon be able to enter Italy without having to follow additional entry rules.

Currently, Italian authorities require all EU citizens to submit a negative test upon entry, regardless of vaccination status and country of origin. However, since the Omicron variant is already widely spread within the European Union, the authorities are planning to remove the pre-test requirement.

All EU/Schengen area countries are currently part of Italy’s List C, with the exception of the Vatican City state and San Marino, which are part of List A.

Passengers arriving in Italy from List A are allowed to enter without restrictions provided they present a valid vaccination or recovery certificate. Both documents can be viewed in paper or digital format.

Travelers from the rest of the EU/Schengen area currently listed C are required to present a vaccination or recovery certificate along with a negative test result, which must be taken within 48 hours prior to arrival.

In addition, everyone is required to fill out a digital passenger locator form before entering Italy. The form replaces the self-certification submitted to the transport operator and can be submitted digitally or in paper format.

Although travelers from the European Union will be required to fulfill the above rules until February 1, they are still allowed entry for travel purposes without having to provide an underlying reason for their trip.

“Free movement to and from these countries for any reason is allowed, and therefore also for tourism, as long as you have not resided in or transited through one of the countries on List E within 14 days before entering Italy,” the health explains.

However, once the new order takes effect, travelers from the European Union will be able to enter Italy under more accessible rules, as well as be exempted from pre-testing requirements.

Italy has previously lifted the travel ban imposed on South African countries. Since January 14, travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho, Swaziland and Zimbabwe have been able to enter Italy provided they meet strict entry rules.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No