Europe Travel News

Italy Imposes Stringent Entry Rules Against Several Third Countries That Now Are Placed on List E

Italian authorities have announced that the country has removed several countries from its D list, which includes third countries whose citizens are allowed to enter Italy under certain conditions.

Thus, in line with the newly updated lists of countries published by the Italian Ministry of Health, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau is no longer part of the list.

All of these countries are now on Italy’s List E, which means travelers from these regions are only allowed to enter Italy for essential purposes provided they follow strict entry rules, reports.

On the other hand, based on the latest update, the Italian D list now includes the following 3 countries:

Australia Bahrain Canada Chile Israel Japan Jordan Kosovo Kuwait New Zealand Northern Ireland Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia Singapore South Korea Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America Uruguay

Bahrain and Chile were not part of this list but were moved from List E as their epidemiological situation has improved slightly recently.

>> Traveling to Italy amid COVID-19: What you need to know before booking a flight

Entry rules for countries included in List D

Based on the current rules that Italy applies to travelers from third countries listed in List D, everyone is required to fill out a passenger locator form and submit a digital COVID-19 certificate. Other equivalent documents are also accepted as long as they meet state requirements.

Regarding the COVID-19 certificate, the Italian authorities have confirmed that the vaccination certificate is valid as long as it indicates that the holder has been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

In addition, the return certificate must prove that no more than 180 days have passed since the bearer was last tested positive.

Furthermore, with the exception of the two requirements mentioned above, travelers from these third countries are also required to take the test within 72 hours before arriving in Italy.

However, it has been emphasized that special rules apply to those who have stayed in or transited through Northern Ireland and the United Kingdom. Travelers arriving in Italy from these two countries are required to submit a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 48 hours prior to arrival instead of 72.

All those who do not meet any of these requirements must follow the quarantine rules. They need to stay isolated for five days.

“People who have stayed or have passed, within fourteen days prior to entry into the national territory, in Canada, Japan and the USA, may also show a COVID-19 Green Certificate of Successful Recovery or the certificate issued by the relevant health authorities certifying the treatment,” the ministry said. Noting that travelers from the United States, Canada and Japan can enter Italy under the same restrictions as other third countries.

Previously, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) revealed that Italy is one of the safest countries to travel amid COVID-19 as half of its territory is colored green and the other half is orange.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No