Schengen Visa News

Ireland Urges Its Citizens to Refrain From Travelling to Ukraine

Due to the growing threat of military activities, the Irish Ministry of Foreign Affairs has advised Irish citizens not to travel to Ukraine.

In an updated statement on February 12, the Department of Foreign Affairs said that Irish nationals currently in Ukraine should depart by commercial means.

The ministry statement also indicated that they are in constant contact with all those who have planned to travel to Ukraine for essential purposes, and will continue to provide support to both these individuals and families with relevant advice regarding their particular situation.

The situation will be monitored and, like the embassies of partner countries, the Embassy of Ireland in Kiev will remain open with a small number of key personnel remaining.

The number of Irish citizens registered with the embassy in Kiev has increased since the improvement of advice for Ukraine, so there are a total of 145 registered, which may also increase in the coming days.

In a press release issued on 14 February, the Foreign Secretary, Simon Coveney TD, emphasized that with regard to the broader political and security situation in and around Ukraine, they would be in constant contact at a high level with EU partners, as well as with the United Kingdom and the States United.

“Ireland supports all efforts to defuse the current tensions and find a diplomatic way forward. Ireland is committed to Ukraine’s territorial integrity and sovereignty. It is urgent for Russia to de-escalate, abide by international law and constructively engage in dialogue,” he noted to

The updated advice released on February 12 shows that the United Kingdom, Canada, Norway, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands and Italy are among the countries that have asked their citizens to leave Ukraine.

As the situation is now considered precarious in all Ukrainian regions, Latvian authorities have also urged its citizens to avoid traveling to Ukraine, adding that the advice comes after the publication of the NATO statement.

Recently, due to serious threats, the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs asked citizens to avoid all trips in the territories of Ukraine, Russia and Belarus, except for the capital, Minsk, adding that the reason for this was the security tension. And build a great power in the territories of these three countries.

“The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also advises against traveling to or staying in Russia more than 250 kilometers from the Ukrainian border,” the statement published by the Foreign Ministry said.

For two consecutive months, tensions escalated between Ukraine and Russia, although continuous efforts were made, and no change in this situation was observed.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No