Europe Travel News

Ireland Imposes Compulsory COVID-19 Test Requirement for All Arrivals From December 3

Authorities in Ireland have announced that from December 3 all arrivals from other regions will be required to submit a negative coronavirus test result upon arrival.

This decision comes in an attempt to stop the spread of the Corona virus, especially the Omicron variant that has begun to affect many European countries, reports.

Irish authorities also announced that people who have not completed the coronavirus vaccination process will have to submit a negative PCR test result, with a duration of no longer than 72 hours, while those who have been vaccinated against the virus may decide whether they want to submit a negative test result. PCR or antigen test (no more than 48 hours).

Effective Friday, December 3, 2021, all arrivals 12 years of age or older who have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19 must submit a negative or undetected antigen test (taken within 48 hours prior to arrival) or RT test negative or undetected – PCR test (performed within 72 hours prior to arrival), “said the statement published by the Irish government.

The Irish government has also made clear that all people who have visited any of the following countries in the past two weeks should not travel to Ireland except in cases of emergency.

Based on figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Ireland has recorded a total of 564,657 cases of COVID-19 and 43 deaths since the start of the pandemic.

The same source shows that in the past seven days, Ireland has reported 30,063 cases of COVID-19 and 43 deaths.

According to data provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), 76.4 per cent of the population in Ireland has been vaccinated against the virus in Ireland so far.

Today, authorities in Ireland confirmed the first case of the Omicron variant, while tests were conducted at the National Virology Reference Laboratory.

Botswana Eswatini Lesotho Mozambique Namibia South Africa Zimbabwe

However, Irish authorities have confirmed that there will be some exemptions in place. Irish citizens or EU citizens with family members, UK citizens, legal residents of Ireland, diplomats, as well as transport workers are exempt from entry requirements when traveling to Ireland.

“Travelers must quarantine at the address you provided on the Passenger Locator Form for 14 days upon arrival. You should get a RT-PCR test on Day 2 and Day 8. HSE will contact you to arrange the tests. You can leave home quarantine on Day 10 if Your tests were negative. If you test positive, you must quarantine for ten days from the date of the positive test.”

From 30 November, authorities in Ireland required all arrivals, regardless of their vaccination status, to submit a negative coronavirus test result, more than 72 hours before their arrival.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No