Schengen Visa News

India & Switzerland Sign Air Travel Bubble Amid COVID-19

India and Switzerland have tightened their relations by creating an air bubble agreement that allows airlines of both countries to operate flights between India and Switzerland.

However, persons falling into the following categories will be carried on such flights:

Citizens of Switzerland and stranded residents, foreigners destined for the European Union or the Schengen Area, South America, or Africa transiting through Switzerland or the spouses of such persons whether accompanying or otherwise. Indian nationals or nationals of Nepal or Bhutan traveling to EU/Schengen countries, South America or Africa only and having a valid visa for the destination country. The airlines shall ensure that there are no travel restrictions for the nationals of India, Nepal and Bhutan to enter the country of destination before issuing the boarding pass/ticket to Indian, Nepalese and Bhutan passengers.

At the same time, flights from Switzerland to India will carry passengers from Switzerland to India of the following category:

Indians, nationals of Bhutan or Nepal stranded in EU/Schengen, Africa or South America Overseas Citizens of India (OCI) card holders and PIO card holders holding passport of any country. Get a valid Indian visa

Indian authorities recently announced an agreement with Australia to restart commercial passenger services after the suspension of regular international flights due to the coronavirus situation, reports.

Figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO) show that India has recorded more than 34697800 cases of COVID-19 infection and 475,636 deaths since the start of the pandemic.

The same source shows that 56,299 cases of COVID-19 were reported in India in the past seven days, while 2,099 people died during the same period.

Meanwhile, Switzerland has recorded more than 1,106,580 cases of COVID019 and 11,340 deaths. In the past seven days, there have been more than 38,150 cases of COVID-19 and 85 deaths during the same period.

Because of these numbers, the authorities in Switzerland announced that they have imposed stricter entry rules on 23 EU member states and third countries in an effort to stop the spread of COVID-19 and its new variants.

Authorities in Switzerland have announced that since November 30, arrivals from Japan, Canada, Nigeria and Portugal will face stricter entry rules when planning to enter Switzerland due to the COVID-19 variant Omicron.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No