Europe Travel News

Greece Refuses to Impose Travel Restrictions on US Residents

The Hellenic Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has announced that the current registry regulating entry into the country has been extended for another week, until September 10.

However, the NOTAM extension did not exclude the US from the list of countries whose permanent residents are entitled to enter Greece for non-essential purposes, despite the EU bloc’s recommendation of member states to ban entry to US residents, due to the high number of COVID-19 cases in the territory the last one.

In fact, the new NOTAM included only one new country – Chinese Taipei – in the list of countries residents are allowed to enter, and no country was excluded.

“The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) announces to the public an increase in the number of third countries, from thirty-five (35) to thirty-six (36), into which permanent residents will enter Greece, in addition to the countries of the European Union and the Schengen Agreement. Regarding pre-existing airline directives , foreign nationals and permanent residents of Chinese Taipei have been added to the list of third-country nationals allowed to enter Greece,” according to a press release from the Civil Aviation Authority.

Thus, with the NOTAM extension, citizens of the European Union and the Schengen area, as well as their spouses and persons with whom they have a cohabitation agreement, as well as minor children, remain eligible to enter Greece.

Eligible for entry from third countries are only permanent residents of the following: Australia, North Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, USA, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, New Belarus, Bahrain, Southern Bahrain, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine and Russia Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Moldova, Moldova, Moldova, Kosovo, and Chinese Taipei.

All travelers arriving in Greece are required to fill out a passenger locator form prior to departure to Greece and either have been fully vaccinated against COVID or have contracted the COVID-19 virus in the past six months. Negative tests are also acceptable if a PCR test was taken within the past 72 hours or a rapid test was taken within 48 hours prior to their arrival in Greece.

>> Acknowledgment of COVID-19 vaccines in Greece for travel

Although travelers have been proven immune to the coronavirus, all passengers will undergo a rapid test upon arrival in the country. Those who tested negative are subject to a ten-day quarantine period. Those who have been vaccinated should be isolated for seven days only.

>> Traveling to Greece in Summer 2021: Here’s what you need to know

Greece is not the only EU country that has refused to impose an entry ban on travelers from the US, as previously, Croatia has also indicated that it would not do something like this, despite the EU Council’s recommendation to do so. . Iceland has not imposed an entry ban on US residents either, noting that the council’s recommendation is not binding, but that it is up to member states to decide whether or not they want to implement it.

On the other hand, among the countries that have already barred entry to US residents are Norway, Italy, Bulgaria, the Netherlands and Sweden.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No