Schengen Visa News

Greece Permits Entry for Travellers From Mexico, Extends Restrictions for Other Third Countries

The Greek Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) announced that travelers from Mexico can now enter Greece for non-essential purposes such as tourism and business, even if they have not been vaccinated, thus expanding the list of third countries, whose citizens can enter the territory of Greece up to 43.

The move to include Mexico in the list of safe countries was revealed on Friday, December 3rd.

“In terms of pre-existing flight instructions abroad, Mexico has been added to the number of countries allowed to enter Greece, with the additional requirement that all passengers (regardless of their vaccination status) must be tested at the airport (PCR or express) before entering the country.” , the CAA clarifies regarding entry rules that now apply to Mexican travelers.

The country has recently seen a decrease in the number of COVID-19 cases compared to the rest of the world. World Health Organization (WHO) data shows that Mexico, with a population of 128.9 million, recorded only 3,345 new cases in the past 24 hours. This means that the country has a lower infection rate compared to the countries of the European Union.

Thus, as of December 3, the list of safe third countries, through which travelers can enter Greece for non-essential purposes, consists of Australia, Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Argentina, Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei and Canada. , China, Chile, Chinese Taipei, Israel, India, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mexico, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Oman, Qatar, Russia, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia , South Korea, Singapore, Turkey, Ukraine, UAE, UK, USA, Uruguay, and Vatican.

Eligible to enter the country are also all EU and Schengen area citizens and their spouses and minor children.

All travelers from the above-mentioned countries, as well as categories allowed to enter from other countries, are required to fill out the electronic form PLF (Passenger Locator Locator Form) before their trip to Greece. They must then carry a PLF confirmation with them upon arrival in Greece.

Proof of vaccination, recovery or negative COVID-10 test results in order to be eligible to enter the territory of Greece is mandatory for all.

Furthermore, all travelers will be required to take a quick test upon arrival. If the test results are positive, the traveler must undergo a ten-day quarantine. Vaccinated travelers can leave the quarantine after seven days. A PCR test is mandatory on the last day of quarantine in either case.

>> Traveling to Greece amid COVID-19: Here’s what you need to know

The Civil Aviation Authority also announced that restrictions on travelers from nine African countries – South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, Zambia and Malawi – will remain in place at least until December 10, due to the Omicron outbreak. virus variant.

Since there are no direct flights from these African countries to Greece, the authorities are tracking travelers who may have been there through the PLF protocol.

>> Greece records 126% increase in passengers compared to 2020

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No