Europe Travel News

Greece Imposes Testing Requirements for US & Egypt Travellers- Lifts Them for Arrivals From India

Authorities in Greece have announced that travelers from Egypt and the United States will be required to undergo a mandatory testing process upon arrival in the Republic of Greece.

In contrast, travelers from India have experienced easing of entry restrictions as the requirement to submit a test result on arrival has ceased to apply, according to a statement published by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA), reports.

Greek authorities note that the current air guidance will remain in effect for another week – Friday, October 1.

The Civil Aviation Authority stressed that third-country nationals and their spouses or accompanying persons will continue to be denied entry to the province. However, there will be no change in entry requirements for travelers from the European Union and the Schengen area, reports.

The mandatory test requirement remains in effect for Russian travelers arriving in Greece, regardless of their vaccination status. They must submit a PCR test 72 hours before or take a rapid test 48 hours prior to arrival. In addition, all travelers or permanent residents from Russia will be required to take a test with COVID-19 upon arrival in Greece.

Furthermore, the Civil Aviation Authority revealed that other travelers from third countries who must submit a negative test on arrival include the following:

Albania Argentina Bulgaria Brazil Georgia Cuba United States China Libya Morocco North Macedonia Pakistan Russia Turkey

Travelers from the above countries will have to take a quick test at the airport. If the results are positive, the traveler must take a PCR test to confirm the result.

Furthermore, third-country nationals have to provide an underlying reason to travel to Greece or they must be permanent residents of the country in order to be allowed to return. Third countries, whose travelers are subject to more stringent entry requirements in Greece, including the following countries:

Australia, North Macedonia, UAE, USA, UK, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina , Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican, Monaco, Turkey, Kosovo, China, Taipei.

Furthermore, the Civil Aviation Authority reminds all travelers to complete the Passenger Locator Form at any time prior to departure, regardless of their nationality. The form is a necessary travel document because it helps the government in contacting travelers throughout their stay in the country.

Passengers are reminded to wear a face mask at all times throughout the flight.

Furthermore, the authority discloses that in order for travelers to be able to enter the country without being quarantined, they must submit one of the following documents:

1) A certificate of vaccination older than 14 days issued by a public body in Greek, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Russian.

2) Provide a negative PCR test performed within 72 hours or 48 hours prior to their arrival in Greece for those tested with a rapid test.

3) Provide a refund certificate issued 30 days after the first positive test, with a validity of 180 days.

4) Submit your EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate.

Children aged 1 and over must submit a vaccination, negative test, return certificate or digital certificate to enter Greece.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No