Europe Travel News

Greece Imposes Testing Requirement for Travellers Arriving from India, Russia, UAE & 10 Other Countries

All unvaccinated travelers from Egypt, Albania, Argentina, Brazil, Georgia, Cuba, the United Arab Emirates, India, China, Libya, Morocco, Russia and Turkey, regardless of their nationality, are required to undergo testing on arrival, as the Greek authorities have announced.

According to a press release, Greece’s Aviation Authority (CAA) has also warned that the entry ban on incoming international flights will be extended until August 27, in an effort to stem the spread of the coronavirus, reports.

In addition, the NOTAM for flights from abroad that will be valid until Friday includes the following:

Banning third-country nationals, including their spouses or persons with whom they have entered into a cohabitation agreement, from entering the country permit for essential travelers and permanent residents of Australia, North Macedonia, the United Arab Emirates, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican, Monaco, Turkey, Kosovo

All travelers arriving in Greece, regardless of nationality, are required to fill out the electronic form, Passenger Locator Form (PFL), prior to the flight departure to Greece. The completed PLF form is automatically sent by e-mail to the passenger and is considered a necessary travel document.

To enter Greece, travelers must present the following:

1) A vaccination certificate indicating that the holder was vaccinated against the Corona virus at least 14 days before travel. The document must be submitted in either Greek, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Russian, and must be issued by a public authority.

2) Negative PCR test result took 72 hours to leave or 48 hours for rapid test

3) A return certificate was issued 30 days ago stating that its holder was infected with the Corona virus and that it is immune against it for a period of 180 days after the issuance of the document.

4) Travelers from abroad may also hold, in digital or printed form, a European Digital COVID-19 Certificate (European Digital COVID-19 Vaccination Passport), which contains information about the vaccination, recovery or test status of the holder. Vaccination and testing requirements apply to all passengers over 12 years of age.

>> Traveling to Greece in Summer 2021: Here’s what you need to know

If the traveler’s rapid test is positive, it will need to be backed up immediately with a PCR test. In the event that both tests find the traveler positive, the ten-day quarantine requirement will be applied. The seven-day isolation requirement applies to international travelers who have been vaccinated but test positive on arrival. In either case (for a period of seven or ten days of temporary restriction), in order to end the quarantine, travelers must submit a PCR test on the last day.

Greece is the country that recognizes the largest number of vaccines, ten of them, which are:

Pfizer / BioNTech (Comirnaty) Moderna (Spikevax) AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria) Johnson & Johnson (Janssen) Sinovac (CoronaVac) AstraZeneca – Serum Institute of India (Covishield) Novavax Sputnik V Cansino Biologics Sinopharm BIBP

Passengers who have been vaccinated with one of these vaccines are allowed to enter the country without entering quarantine requirements.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No