Schengen Visa News

Greece Exempts Arrivals From US, Canada & Australia From Testing Requirement

The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has announced that arrivals from the United States, Canada and Australia are no longer required to submit a negative test upon arrival in Greece.

According to a press release from the authority, those coming from these countries will be allowed to enter the country under the same requirements as those holding the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate (EUDCC), reports.

This means that travelers from these countries can enter Greece by presenting one of the following documents:

The vaccination certificate is valid nine months after the initial course of vaccination and with unlimited validity for travelers who have received the booster dose. A sickness certificate is valid for 180 days. A PCR test for the last 72 hours of departure or an antigen test was performed 24 hours before arrival.

>> Greece officially opens the tourist season on March 1

Other countries, from which arrivals can enter Greece exempt from additional testing requirements, include the following:

EU/Schengen Area, San Marino, Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Vatican, North Macedonia, Georgia, Switzerland, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Lebanon, Morocco, Montenegro, Moldova, Monaco, Norway, New Zealand, Ukraine, Uruguay, Panama, Cape Verde, Serbia, Singapore, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, Tunisia, Faroe Islands and Taiwan.

In addition, regardless of vaccination status, arrivals from all countries must complete a mandatory passenger locator form before arriving in the Mediterranean country.

“In the event that the tests find that a passenger is positive, the quarantine/isolation is in effect for five days, at home or in an appropriate temporary place of residence determined by the relevant authorities. The press release explains that the temporary restriction starts from the day after they are diagnosed as positive for coronavirus. COVID-19.

The Australian government recently announced that it will end its nearly two-year travel ban, with the measure taking effect on February 21. This means that all EU citizens can travel to Australia if they are fully vaccinated with one of the 10 approved vaccines.

“From February 21, 2022, all fully vaccinated visa holders can travel to Australia without a travel waiver. Unvaccinated visa holders will still need a valid travel waiver to enter Australia.”

>> The Council of the European Union removes Argentina, Australia and Canada from the list of safe third countries

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), Greece has reported 126,947 positive cases and 674 deaths from COVID-19 in the past seven days. Since the outbreak of the epidemic, the country has recorded 21,29,153 positive cases and 24,507 deaths from the virus.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No