Europe Travel News

Germany Travel Restrictions Tighten Up for Arrivals From Bulgaria, Croatia, Singapore, Cameroon & Congo

German authorities have tightened entry restrictions for travelers from five other countries, two of which are members of the European Union, after the Robert Koch Institute added all five to its list of high-risk areas.

In an update of high-risk countries and regions, the RKI, a government institute responsible for disease prevention and control, added the following five countries to the list:

Bulgaria Cameroon Croatia Republic of the Congo Singapore

The decision, announced Friday, October 22, will take effect the following Sunday. This means that travelers from these countries are now subject to more entry restrictions than before, including the obligation to register before their trip to Germany on

At the same time, these travelers will have to self-isolate for ten days upon arrival in Germany. If the traveler can provide evidence of vaccination with one of the vaccines accepted by German authorities, or has recovered from COVID-19 in the past six months, the isolation can be terminated prematurely.

According to travelers who have not been vaccinated (or are not vaccinated in Germany) and those who have had COVID-19 in the past months, they can still end quarantine prematurely by getting tested for COVID-19, but not immediately.

The German Foreign Ministry explains: “The quarantine period may end on the basis of a negative test carried out no later than five days after entry.”

Data published by the World Health Organization shows that the newly reported cases in the past seven days per 100,000 population in Croatia, Singapore and Bulgaria were above 300 (327.27, 396.42 and 344.5, respectively), while the rate in Germany is 90.26.

While in Cameroon (7.11) and Congo (20.89), the rate is low, according to the data available to the World Health Organization, both countries have very low vaccination rates, with the vaccination rate in both countries being less than one percent.

In updating the list, RKI also removed four countries from it – Honduras, Iraq, Kenya and Kosovo – which means that from Sunday, October 24, travelers from these countries can enter the territory of Germany under the concessional entry restrictions.

In an update last week on October 15, Algeria, Fiji, Morocco, Sri Lanka and Tunisia were also removed from Germany’s list of high-risk areas due to the recent drop in the number of COVID-19 cases in their territories. Prior to that, RKI added Estonia, Latvia, Brunei Darussalam, Ukraine and Yemen to this list.

>> Who can travel to Germany amid COVID-19 and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No