Europe Travel News

Germany Travel Restrictions Facilitated for Arrivals From Algeria, Morocco & 3 Other Third Countries

Travelers from Algeria, Fiji, Morocco, Sri Lanka and Tunisia can now enter Germany under the concessional entry restrictions, with all five third countries removed from the list of high-risk areas.

Updating the list, the Robert Koch Institute, the German agency responsible for disease control and prevention, added to the list Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe, with an increase in the number of COVID-19 cases in the territories of both countries. .

“The list below for the classification of risk areas is valid as of Sunday, October 17, 2021, 12:00 am. The classification of risk areas can be changed in a short time. Please check immediately before departure whether the countries you have stayed in in the last 10 days before entering Germany Classified as danger zones,” the RKI notes, among other things.

The move means that from Sunday, travelers from Gabon and Sao Tome will have to register at before arriving in Germany.

They will also have to self-quarantine for ten days, which can end prematurely if the traveler provides evidence of a previous vaccination or recovery. Quarantine can also be ended earlier if the traveler tests for COVID-19, but not before the fifth day.

The German Foreign Ministry explains: “The quarantine period may end on the basis of a negative test carried out no later than five days after entry.”

On the other hand, travelers from Algeria, Fiji, Morocco, Sri Lanka and Tunisia are no longer subject to these requirements, especially travelers who have been vaccinated against COVID-19.

WHO data show that the newly reported cases in the past seven days per 100,000 population in each country are as follows:

Algeria – 1.66 Fiji – 35.7 Morocco – 9.59 Sri Lanka – 25.83 Tunisia – 11.8

The same rates for Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe are 44.57 and 29.66, respectively.

On the other hand, Germany has reported 71.26 new cases in the past seven days per 100,000 population.

Last week, reported that the RKI had added Estonia, Latvia, Brunei Darussalam, Ukraine and Yemen to its list of high-risk areas. At the same time, Azerbaijan, Colombia, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, the French regions of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Martin, Saint Barthelemy, French Polynesia, the Norwegian provinces of Oslo and Viken were removed from the list through the same update.

Currently, travelers from Australia, Bahrain, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Uruguay and the United Arab Emirates can enter Germany without restrictions, regardless of their vaccination status.

According to the Ministry of the Interior, Construction and Home Affairs, the list is based on the European Union’s list of epidemiologically safe third countries. This list will also include China once the latter reciprocates the move and allows entry to EU citizens.

Germany also has a list of countries with a type of virus of concern, and this list is currently empty.

There are no entry restrictions on travel from other EI/EEA countries or Switzerland, regardless of the requirement for proof of vaccination, cure or negative COVID-19 test results.

>> Who can travel to Germany this summer and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No