Europe Travel News

Germany Travel: 72 World Countries Remain Part of the High-Risk List & Subject to Stricter Entry Restrictions

Travelers from five European countries, two of which are EU member states, as well as travelers from dozens of other third countries, now face severe entry restrictions upon arrival in Germany as they continue to remain on the latter’s high-risk list.

According to the latest data provided by the German agency responsible for disease prevention and control, the Robert Koch Institute, five new countries have been added to the high-risk list areas, while four more have been removed, reports.

In line with the designation of danger zones that took effect on Sunday, October 24, travelers from the following countries now need to follow strict entry rules when traveling to Germany:

Bulgaria Cameroon Croatia Republic of the Congo Singapore

Apart from the newly added countries, the high-risk list already includes 67 other territories, seven of which – Bulgaria, Estonia, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania and Slovenia – are EU member states. As for the third countries, the list includes Israel, South Korea, Singapore, the United States, and the United Kingdom, among others.

Based on the current rules that Germany has, travelers from any of the countries severely affected by COVID-19 are required to fill out a digital entry form at, and are required to carry the confirmation received with them when they enter Germany.

In addition, travelers from high-risk areas are required to remain in self-isolation for ten days upon arrival in Germany. However, the authorities have made it clear that those who can provide proof of vaccination with one of the vaccines recognized in Germany or a certificate of recovery indicating that the carrier has recovered from the virus within the past six months can end his isolation prematurely.

The RKI statement reads: “The home quarantine can be terminated prematurely if proof of recovery, vaccination certificate or negative test certificate is submitted via the digital login upload portal.”

>> Germany entry permits for travelers with 5 COVID-19 vaccines, including Covishield

Furthermore, travelers who have not been vaccinated, who do not have a valid vaccination certificate, as well as those who have not recovered from the disease can also end the quarantine period earlier provided they obtain a negative COVID-19 test result for five days after their entry.

Through the update itself, it was announced that Honduras, Iraq, Kenya and Kosovo were no longer part of the high-risk list. This means that travelers from these countries can now enter Germany under the facilitated entry rules.

Previously, Germany eased entry restrictions for travelers from Algeria, Morocco and three other third countries.

Currently, the full list of countries classified as high risk is as follows:

Albania (since September 5, 2021) Antigua and Barbuda (September 19, 2021) Armenia (September 19, 2021) Barbados (September 19, 2021) Belarus (October 3, 2021) Belize (September 19, 2021) Bosnia and Herzegovina (September 12, 2021) Brunei Darussalam (October 10, 2021) Bulgaria (October 24, 2021) Burundi (September 26, 2021) Cameroon (October 24, 2021) Republic of the Congo (October 24, 2021) Costa Rica (May 9, 2021) Croatia (October 24, 2021) Cuba (July 18, 2021) Dominica ( August 22, 2021) Egypt (January 24, 2021) El Salvador (October 3, 2021) Estonia (October 10, 2021) Ethiopia (September 26, 2021) France – The following areas and French overseas territories are considered high-risk areas: French Guiana (August 15, 2021) and Caledonia El Jadida (September 26, 2021) Gabon (October 17, 2021) Georgia (July 25, 2021) Grenada (September 12, 2021) Guatemala (September 5, 2021) Guyana (September 19, 2021) Haiti (August 8, 2021) Iran (January 24, 2021) Ireland – The following areas are considered high-risk: Borders (August 22, 2021) Israel (August 15, 2021), including the Palestinian Territories (September 5, 2021) Jamaica (August 29, 2021) DPRK (August 8, 2021) Latvia (October 10, 2021) Libya (July 18, 2021) Lithuania (October 3, 2021) Malaysia (June 13, 2021) Mexico (August 8, 2021) Republic of Moldova (19) September 2021) Mongolia (June 13, 2021) Montenegro (August 15, 2021) Myanmar (August 8, 2021) Netherlands – The following outer parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands are considered high-risk areas: Aruba (July 27, 2021), Curaçao (July 27, 2021) Bonaire (July 27, 2021), Saint Eustatius (July 27, 2021), Sint Maarten (July 27, 2021), Saba (July 27, 2021) Nicaragua (September 12, 2021) Macedonia (August 22, 2021) Papua New Guinea (August) August 8, 2021) Philippines (August 8, 2021) Romania (October 3, 2021) Russian Federation (July 7, 2021) Sao Tome and Principe (October 17, 2021) Serbia (September 5, 2021) Seychelles (February 14, 2021) Sin Singapore (October 24, 2021) Slovenia (September 26, 2021) Kits and Nevis (August 29, 2021) Lucia (August 29, 2021) Vincent and the Grenadines (September 26, 2021) Sudan (January 31, 2021) Suriname (May 23, 2021) Arab Republic Syria (January 31, 2021) Tajikistan (August 8, 2021) Tanzania (March 14, 2021) Thailand (August 8, 2021) Trinidad and Tobago (August 8, 2021) Turkey (August 17, 2021) Turkmenistan (August 8, 2021) Ukraine (October 10, 2021) United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, including the Isle of Man as well as all Channel Islands and all British Overseas Territories (7 July 2021) USA (15 August 2021) Uzbekistan (8 August 2021) Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic (19 September 2021) Vietnam (August 15, 2021) Yemen (October 10, 2021)

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No