Schengen Visa News

Germany to Remove Romania, Iran, Armenia, Philippines & Mongolia From Its High-Risk List

Updating the list of countries severely affected by the COVID-19 disease, German authorities announced that five countries will be removed from the high-risk list on Sunday, December 12.

The new update to the lists has been published by the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), the German body responsible for disease prevention and control. According to the announcement, the following countries will not be part of the high-risk list:

Armenia Iran Mongolia Philippines Romania

Based on Germany’s current entry rules, the decision means that from December 12, vaccinated and repatriated travelers arriving in Germany from one of the above countries will be required to follow less stringent entry rules, reports.

Travelers from Armenia, Iran, Mongolia, the Philippines and Romania, who have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19, will not have to check in before traveling to Germany.

Moreover, travelers from these countries will also be exempted from quarantine requirements.

On the other hand, strict entry rules will continue to apply to unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers arriving in Germany from one of the countries that will be removed from the high-risk list. They can enter Germany only for very essential purposes provided they follow entry rules, such as testing and quarantine requirements.

Regarding Germany’s high-risk list, no new countries have been added to it. However, the list currently includes Switzerland, Poland, Liechtenstein and several other EU/Schengen area countries such as Croatia, Belgium, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Austria, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Hungary.

All travelers from a high-risk area must fill out a digital entry form. Furthermore, those who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus must remain isolated for ten days upon arrival in Germany.

“Travelers who have previously resided in a high-risk area must have a test, vaccination or refund certificate and, if a carrier is used, provide evidence for the purpose of transportation,” the authorities explained.

Similar to the high-risk list, the list of variable regions for the virus in Germany has remained unchanged. Currently, the list of virus variants includes Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe and South Africa.

>> Germany classifies 8 countries as virus changing regions

Previously, German leaders agreed to impose stricter restrictions in order to prevent the further spread of COVID-19 and its new variant. Since December 2, all people who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus have been denied access to many enclosed spaces.

>> Traveling to Germany is now almost impossible for those who have not received the vaccination

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No