Schengen Visa News

Germany Removes Spain, Andorra, French Overseas Territories & 17 Third Countries From High-Risk List

Travelers from three EU countries and 17 non-EU countries will be able to travel to Germany under the concessional entry rules from Sunday, February 20, when the latter decided to remove them from the high-risk list.

Updating the list of countries no longer severely affected by the COVID-19 disease, the German body responsible for disease prevention and control, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), has announced that Spain, Andorra and the three French Overseas Territories – French Guyana, Mayotte, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon will no longer be part of the list. high risk.

Along with Spain, the Balearic and Canary Islands will also be removed from the high-risk list, reports.

In addition, the following 17 third countries will be removed from the high-risk list on Sunday:

Afghanistan Algeria Fiji India Ireland Kazakhstan Qatar Laos Morocco Nepal Pakistan Saudi Arabia Tunisia Uzbekistan United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America

This step means that travelers from these countries and territories will not be required to check in on In addition, they will also be exempted from quarantine requirements.

However, the German authorities emphasized that everyone must still provide a valid certificate proving that the holder has recovered, tested negative or vaccinated against the virus, regardless of their country of origin.

“All travelers entering the country, regardless of whether they have spent time in a High Risk Area or an Area of ​​Variables of Concern, are required upon entry to provide evidence of non-infection with SARS-CoV-2 (test result, evidence of vaccination or cure).” , reads the statement of the German Federal Ministry of Health.

The requirement to carry a certificate applies to all passengers over the age of six.

Germany accepts certificates of vaccination as long as the document proves that the holder has completed the initial vaccination within the past nine months (270 days) or has received a booster dose.

On the other hand, refund certificates are only valid if a positive PCR test result has been performed within the last 90 days, which means refund certificates are only valid for three months.

As for negative tests, the ministry clarified that Germany accepts both polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests and rapid antigen tests. The PCR test must be performed within 72 hours, and the rapid antigen test must be performed within 48 hours prior to admission for identification.

Although Germany has removed several countries from its high-risk list, dozens of others are still part of it. High-risk travelers are required to follow additional entry rules upon arrival in Germany.

>> Germany to ease coronavirus restrictions

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No