Europe Travel News

Germany Removes Japan & Senegal From List of High-Areas, Adds 5 Others

The German federal government agency and research institute responsible for disease control and prevention, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), have updated the list of high-risk areas with increasing rates of COVID-19 infection, removing Japan, Senegal and the French region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur from the list.

The decision was announced on Friday, September 24, and takes effect on Sunday, September 26, and means that travelers from these two countries and the French region mentioned above are no longer subject to strict entry requirements that apply to arrivals from countries and regions. classified as high risk.

Germany had added Japan to the list of high-risk areas earlier this month due to the COVID-19 situation in that country. At the time, Japanese authorities reported 17,456 new cases of COVID-19 on September 4 alone. However, in the past 24 hours, Japan has reported 3,457 cases, according to WHO data. The country has a population of 126.3 million people.

On the other hand, the RKI of the Federal Ministry of Health has added the following countries and regions to the list of high-risk areas due to the increase in the number of COVID-19 infections reported in its territory:

Burundi Ethiopia France – French Overseas Department New Caledonia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Slovenia

WHO data shows that Slovenia, a country in the European Union with a population of 2.081 million, reported 1,011 new cases of coronavirus in the past 24 hours.

Travelers from high-risk countries eligible to enter Germany, aged 12 or over, are required to present their vaccination certificates or test results upon entry. They are also obligated to register with before arriving in Germany and to carry proof of registration with them upon arrival in the country.

“In addition, when entering the Federal Republic of Germany after residing in a high-risk foreign zone or virus-variant zone, special registration, proof and quarantine requirements must be observed,” the RKI notes.

Currently, unvaccinated travelers can enter Germany for non-essential purposes only from the following three countries: Australia, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and Ukraine and Uruguay.

Travelers from Chile, Kuwait and Rwanda, regardless of their vaccination status, will only be allowed entry from Sunday, September 26, after the European Union Commission recommended that member states allow entry to travelers from these countries.

>> Who can travel to Germany amid COVID-19 and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No