Europe Travel News

Germany Removes 14 Countries From List of High-Risk Areas, Adds Another 7

From Sunday, September 19, travelers from Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Moldova and Venezuela will face stricter entry restrictions when traveling to Germany, with the same being placed on the list of high-risk areas.

According to the Robert Koch Institute, the German agency for disease prevention and control, these countries have been added to the high-risk list due to the high prevalence of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus in the past days, reports.

Thus, from Sunday, travelers from these countries who are allowed to enter Germany, apart from being obligated to fill out a digital entry form on and carry the confirmation they received with them upon entry, will be subject to requirements such as a vaccination passport, test and quarantine.

The RKI notes that “passengers who have previously resided in a high-risk area must have a test, vaccination, or recovery certificate with them and, if a carrier is used, provide evidence for the purpose of transportation.”

It also clarifies that travelers who have resided in a high-risk area must isolate upon arrival for a period of ten days. However, the quarantine period can be terminated prematurely if proof of recovery, vaccination certificate or negative test certificate is submitted via

For those who provide proof of recovery or vaccination upon arrival, the same will not have to be quarantined. However, those who have chosen to test against COVID-19 as a way to prematurely end quarantine cannot do so before the fifth day of confinement.

>> Germany entry permits for travelers with 5 COVID-19 vaccines, including Covishield

In updating the list of countries, based on the spread of COVID-19 in their territory, RKI also indicated that the following countries are no longer part of the list:

Bangladesh Botswana Brazil Cyprus Eswatini India Ireland – Western Region Lesotho Malawi Nepal Portugal – Algarve Region South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe

This means that arrivals from these areas no longer meet all of the entry requirements listed above. RKI also notes that no new virus variable regions have been reported. Thus, at the moment, there are no countries included under this category.

On September 11, reported that RKI removed seven third countries – Argentina, Bolivia, Ecuador, Namibia, Oman, Paraguay and Peru – from its list of high-risk countries.

The regions of Corsica, French Occitanie and the French Overseas Province of Reunion, as well as the regions of Greece in Crete and the southern Aegean, were removed from the same list on the same day.

>> Who can travel to Germany amid COVID-19 and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No