Europe Travel News

Germany Plans to Ease Self-Isolation Measures for Vaccinated Travellers Arriving From Virus Variant Areas

German authorities have revealed that they plan to ease restrictions on fully vaccinated travelers entering from a country on the list of virus infection areas in Germany.

The list of changing regions for viruses includes countries and regions in which COVID-19 variants have spread widely and are transmitted at a very fast rate. The list of virus diversity regions in Germany currently includes Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Uruguay, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Thus, in line with the new announcement, travelers from one of the above-mentioned countries will soon not be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

They will now be able to shorten their self-isolation period as long as they provide evidence that the vaccine they have been vaccinated with is effective against the COVID-19 variant prevalent in the country/region they are traveling from.

However, more detailed information remains to be announced about when such a decision will become fully effective and how early to shorten the period of self-isolation, reports.

According to the Corona Virus Entry Regulations Act, in order to be allowed to enter Germany, all travelers must be immunized with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

As such, according to the Paul-Ehrlich Institute, Germany recognizes the following vaccines: BioNTech / Pfizer, Janssen, Moderna and AstraZeneca. In addition, the ministry also announced that the country is now also recognizing the Kofishield vaccine because it has been listed for emergency use by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Currently, Germany has a ban on arrivals from regions of virus variants. After a stay of more than ten days in a virus variant zone, those who are allowed into the country must provide a negative COVID-19 test result, evidence of vaccination against the disease, or evidence of recovery.

“There is a ban on transport to countries where virus mutations are widespread (so-called virus variant regions). Transport companies, such as airlines or train companies, are not allowed to transport people from these countries to Germany,” the Foreign Ministry statement said. German.

In addition, at the moment, all people arriving from one of the changing regions of the virus need to remain isolated for 14 days. However, this requirement does not apply to the following categories of persons:

People who have traveled through high-risk or high-risk areas without stopping People who use Germany as a transit country People who have not stayed in a dangerous area for more than 24 hours or those who leave the territory of Germany within 24 hours of entry

>> Who can travel to Germany this summer and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No