Schengen Visa News

Germany Allows More Non-Vaccinated Third-Country Citizens to Enter for Tourism From Sunday, But Not Brits

The German authorities decided to allow unrestricted entry for those coming from third countries, in line with the latest recommendation of the Council of the European Union, which on July 1 expanded the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, for its residents from EU countries. Member States are advised to gradually allow entry.

According to a press release issued on Saturday 3 June by the German Federal Ministry of Interior, Construction and Home Affairs, from the following day, 4 June, travelers from the countries listed below will be eligible to enter German territory for tourism purposes:

Armenia Azerbaijan Bosnia and Herzegovina Brunei Jordan Canada Qatar Kosovo Moldova Montenegro

“Anyone residing in one of these countries can enter the country without significant reason to travel and regardless of their vaccination status,” the ministry notes, further explaining that the list is based entirely on the recommendation of the EU Council of Ministers July 1, 2021.

The United Kingdom was again excluded from the list, mainly due to the spread of the delta type of coronavirus in its territory.

The list of countries where residents can enter Germany even if they have not been vaccinated already contains the following: Albania, Australia, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, Macau, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and the USA .

Travelers from the United States, Albania, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao, Serbia, North Macedonia and Lebanon have been allowed to enter Germany since June 20, after the German government decided to include these countries in the list of safe third countries for COVID-19 at another recommendation of the Council of the European Union.

Whereas, since June 25, Germany allows entry to tourists from third countries who have been vaccinated with one of the coronavirus vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA), namely Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca and Janssen, even for non-essential travel, if 14 days have passed since vaccinate them.

British travelers were not able to take advantage of this ease of entry procedures either because Germany decided to maintain a ban on entry for arrivals from regions of virus variants, which the United Kingdom is currently doing.

Germany is one of the European countries hardest hit by the Corona virus, with a total of 3,729,682 cases recorded so far. However, WHO statistics show that Germany has now got the situation under control after the country reported only 649 cases in the past 24 hours.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No