Schengen Visa News

Germany Adds Switzerland, Poland, Liechtenstein, Jordan & Mauritius to List of High-Risk Areas

Non-vaccinated travelers from Switzerland, Poland, Liechtenstein, Jordan and Mauritius will face stricter entry rules when traveling to Germany from next Sunday, December 5, with all five on Germany’s list of high-risk areas.

The decision was announced by Germany’s health agency for disease prevention and control, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), today, December 3, reports.

“Passengers who have spent time in a high-risk area must carry with them a test result or evidence of vaccination or recovery, and if requested by the carrier, such evidence must be provided for the purpose of transportation. In the case of residing in an area with variables of concern, only a test result is accepted ,” notes the RKI, explaining the entry rules for those arriving in Germany from a high-risk area.

It also indicates that the guide for the purpose of travel, as well as proof of vaccination, recovery or test results, must be uploaded to the digital login portal. Those who register through this portal will receive a registration confirmation in their email, which they must carry with them in print or digital upon arrival in Germany.

Travelers from high-risk areas are also subject to a quarantine obligation. However, those who upload proof of recovery or vaccination against the virus are not subject to it. On the other hand, those who enter the country with test results can leave the quarantine on the fifth day only if they test for COVID-19 and the result is negative again.

“If you spend time in a high-risk area prior to admission, the relevant test may not be taken five days prior to admission (release testing can be taken from the fifth day after admission),” RKI explains.

By updating the list of high-risk countries, RKI also removed Uzbekistan, Thailand and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines from the list, which means that travelers from these countries to Germany are not subject to the above restrictions. However, the same is obligatory to register before traveling to Germany.

The list of virus variant regions has remained unchanged since last week and consists of:

Botswana Eswatini Lesotho Malawi Mozambique Namibia Zimbabwe South Africa

>> Germany classifies 8 countries as virus changing regions, removes 7 from high risk list

Earlier today, reported that due to the spread of the Omicron variant and the increase in the total number of COVID-19 cases, it is now almost impossible to travel to Germany, since yesterday, the German authorities agreed to impose stricter restrictions on unvaccinated people by Preventing them from entering certain places such as restaurants, bars, museums, libraries, etc.

>> Who can travel to Germany amid COVID-19 and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No