Europe Travel News

Germany Adds Estonia, Latvia & 3 Third Countries to High-Risk List, Removes Several Others

German authorities have revealed that from today, October 8, travelers from two European and three third countries will be subject to stricter entry rules due to their placement in the list of high-risk areas.

According to an announcement published by the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), the German research body responsible for disease control and prevention, as of today, the following countries will be part of the high risk:

Estonia Latvia Brunei Darussalam Ukraine Yemen

Such a decision was made to move these countries to the high-risk list after they identified more than 100 COVID-19 cases per 100,000 population over the past seven days, reports.

Based on figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Estonia has reported only 949 new cases of infection in the past 24 hours. During the same time frame, Latvia reported 1,752 new cases, Ukraine 15,125 cases, Yemen 37, and Brunei Darussalam 106 new cases.

Accordingly, based on the current rules that Germany has, travelers from one of the countries/regions that are part of the high-risk list are required to register at before arriving in Germany and are allowed entry for non-essential purposes such as as long as they have proof of full vaccination.

In addition, the same indicated that those who provide evidence of recovery from the virus and those who can submit a negative COVID-19 test result can also enter Germany for travel purposes.

However, those coming from high-risk areas must follow the rules of self-isolation until they provide evidence of full vaccination, recovery from the virus, or a negative test result through the entry gate.

“Vaccinated and recovered persons can finish quarantine from the time proof of vaccination or recovery is sent through the entry gate. If dispatch is made prior to entry (strongly recommended), then no quarantine is needed,” the German authorities said in a statement.

On the other hand, through the same update, it was revealed that Azerbaijan, Colombia, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, French regions of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Martin, Saint Barthelemy, French Polynesia, and the Norwegian provinces of Oslo and Viken were removed from the high risk list.

This means that travelers from these four countries and six regions are no longer subject to the strict entry rules that apply to arrivals for those classified as high-risk.

Last week, the RKI added Belarus, Lithuania, Romania and El Salvador to its list of high-risk areas. At the same time, it removed Mozambique from the list.

>>EU health agency proposes more restrictions for travelers from Germany

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No