Europe Travel News

Germany Adds Belarus, Lithuania, Romania & El Salvador to Its List of High-Risk Areas, Removes Mozambique

Travelers from four other countries in the world will face stricter entry rules in Germany from Sunday 3 October, after those countries were included in the list of high-risk areas.

In an announcement published by the German research institute responsible for disease control and prevention, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), on October 1, it was revealed that the following countries will now be part of the list of high-risk areas.

Belarus El Salvador Lithuania Romania

The four were included in the list after the reported increase in the number of coronavirus cases detected in their territories.

WHO data shows that Lithuania reported 372.65 new cases of COVID019 in the past seven days per 100,000 population, while Romania reported 313.97 cases, Belarus 145.28 and El Salvador 35.83. On the other hand, Germany reported 67.15 new cases of COVID019 in the same period per 100,000 inhabitants.

Travelers to Germany from countries classified as high-risk areas can enter Germany for non-essential purposes only if they are fully vaccinated. The same is obligatory to register at before their trip and to carry the registration confirmation with them when they arrive at the German port of entry.

Vaccinated travelers must carry their vaccination certificates with them, while those who have recovered from the virus can provide evidence of previous infection. Those who have not yet been vaccinated, and have not recovered from COVID-19 must submit negative COVID-19 test results.

According to the German Federal Foreign Office, arrivals from high-risk areas are also subject to quarantine requirements until evidence of complete vaccination, recovery from infection or a negative test result is submitted through the entry gate.

“The quarantine period may be terminated on the basis of a negative test performed no later than five days after entry. For persons who have been vaccinated or recovered from infection and arrived from a high-risk area, the mandatory quarantine ends immediately upon presentation of evidence of vaccination or proof of recovery,” State Department explains.

By updating the list of high-risk countries and regions, RKI also announced that Mozambique is no longer part of the list. As a result, travelers from this country no longer have to register before their trip to Germany or be quarantined upon arrival.

Last week, the RKI removed Japan, Senegal, and France’s Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur from its list of high-risk areas as well. At the same time, it added Burundi, Ethiopia, the French province of New Caledonia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Slovenia to this list.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No