Schengen Visa News

Germany Adds Another 19 Countries to Its High-Risk List

Updating the list of countries severely affected by the COVID-19 disease, German authorities announced that travelers from 19 other countries will have to follow stricter entry rules upon arrival in the country.

According to the latest list published by the German agency responsible for disease prevention and control, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), starting January 23 at midnight, the high-risk list will include the following 19 countries:

Algeria Bhutan Brazil Chile Ecuador India Japan Kazakhstan Kosovo Maldives Morocco Moldova Mongolia Nepal Paraguay Romania Saudi Arabia Tunisia Uzbekistan

In last week’s update, Germany added another 35 countries to its high risk list, including two EU/Schengen area countries – Latvia and Austria. For this week, Romania is the only EU/Schengen area country that has been added to the list.

According to the current COVID-19 rules in Germany, all people arriving in its territory from a high-risk area must follow strict entry rules.

Travelers from the 19 countries listed above, as well as from regions that are already part of Germany’s high-risk list, must register their entry on and carry the confirmation with them when entering Germany.

“Confirmation is checked by the carrier and, if necessary, also by the Federal Police as part of border police duties,” RKI explains.

In addition, all travelers over the age of six arriving in Germany from a high-risk area must provide proof of vaccination, proof of recovery or a negative test result in order to be allowed into the country, reports.

Regardless, travelers from high-risk areas must follow a ten-day quarantine requirement when entering Germany.

The authorities stressed that “people who remained in a danger zone should return to their homes – or to other accommodations at the destination – immediately upon arrival and isolate themselves for ten days.”

However, the RKI explained that the quarantine period can be ended once travelers update their proof of vaccination to recover on the website.

In the event that one of these two certificates is uploaded before entering Germany, there is no need to enter into self-isolation. This indicates that only unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers from high-risk countries must remain isolated for ten days upon entering Germany.

However, those who have not been vaccinated or recovered can end the quarantine early by submitting a negative test result taken on or after the fifth day.

Germany decided to expand the list of high-risk countries due to the prevalence of the Omicron variant. The latest map update by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control shows that all EU/Schengen area countries are currently severely affected by the virus.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No