Europe Travel News

Georgia, Moldova & Serbia Join EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate System

Georgia, Moldova and Serbia officially joined the EU’s digital COVID certification on November 15, after the three countries met all requirements to become part of the system used for travel in Europe.

“Today, we welcome Georgia, Moldova and Serbia into our #EUCovidCertificate system,” the European Union Commission wrote on its official Twitter account yesterday.

In line with the newly issued announcement, COVID-19 certificates issued by the authorities of Georgia, Moldova and Serbia will now be recognized under the same conditions as the EU digital COVID certificate issued by EU/Schengen area countries.

This means that citizens of these third countries will now be able to travel to EU member states and other third countries already linked to the system as long as they have a valid certificate proving vaccination or recovery from the virus.

Those who recently tested negative for COVID-19 are also subject to the same rules, reports.

“When traveling, the EU COVID digital certificate holder must be exempted from restrictions on freedom of movement: Member states should refrain from imposing additional travel restrictions on EU COVID digital certificate holders,” the Commission explained.

However, Georgia, Moldova and Serbia authorities need to maintain relaxed entry and travel rules for EU digital COVID certificate holders as well, meaning that those holding the document must generally be exempted from all entry rules upon arrival in the three countries.

Except for Georgia, Moldova and Serbia which have now joined the system, there are 11 other third countries connected to the gateway.

“49 countries and territories on five continents are now connected to the system – thus enhancing confidence in safe travel in and out of the EU!” Committee added.

These countries are Albania, Armenia, Faroe Islands, Israel, Morocco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.

Armenia and the United Kingdom joined the system just two weeks ago.

Upon arrival in any EU member state, travelers from Georgia, Moldova, Serbia and other countries that are already part of the system must ensure that their vaccination certificate indicates that they have been fully immunized against the virus with one of the recognized vaccines depending on the country of destination.

All EU/Schengen area countries accept vaccine doses approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA). In contrast, those approved by the World Health Organization (WHO) are not widely recognized.

In order to avoid any inconveniences when traveling abroad, it is highly suggested that everyone check the validity of their vaccine. This can be done by using the Vaccine Screening Tool developed by VisaGuide.World, which helps travelers check if the vaccine they have been immunized with has been recognized by their destination country.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No