Europe Travel News

France Suspends Flights From 7 Southern African Countries

Due to the discovery of a worrying new type of COVID-19, the French government has decided to suspend arrivals from seven countries in South Africa.

According to a press release issued today, November 26, by French Prime Minister Jean Castix, travelers from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini will not be allowed to enter France at least. Duration 48 hours.

However, the entry ban may be extended if required.

Additionally, the same announced that the entry ban would apply to everyone, even those who have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19, reports.

“The B1.1.259 variant, which has been detected in several South African countries including South Africa, displays several mutations with uncertain effects. If no case has yet been detected on French soil, the principle of maximum precaution should be applied. , as stated in a statement by Jan Castex.

Through the same press release, it was announced that people who have traveled to one of the seven South African countries in the last 14 days should report their trip to the authorities and undergo a PCR or rapid antigen test as soon as possible.

In order to avoid further spread of the virus, the French government called on everyone who planned to visit one of these countries to postpone their trip until the epidemiological situation improved.

Regardless of these measures, Castex stressed that the French authorities will hold discussions with European partners during the day in order to create a coherent EU-wide framework.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) show that, of all these seven countries, South Africa has the highest infection rates. Just over the past seven days, South Africa has reported 23,121 new cases.

During the same seven-day period, Botswana reported 523 new cases, followed by Mozambique with 46 new cases, Zimbabwe with 190 new cases, Namibia with 57 new cases, Eswatini with 22 new cases, and Lesotho with 16 new cases.

France currently requires all people allowed to enter the country to hold one of the certificates that fall under the EU’s COVID-19 digital certificate. Travelers from countries whose certificate has not been linked to the EU COVID-19 digital certificate system are required to transfer their card.

In addition, while in France, everyone must present a certificate of vaccination or recovery in order to be allowed access to certain indoor places and activities, as the Health Pass requirement has been extended until mid-2022.

>> UK nationals who do not comply with the 90-day stay limit in France are warned that they will be fined

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No