Schengen Visa News

France Moves 12 Third Countries From Red to Orange List

After assessing the current situation of COVID-19, the French authorities decided to remove 12 third countries from the red list and put them on the orange list.

Countries removed from the red list include Ukraine, Moldova and Russia, as well as nine countries in southern Africa – Mozambique, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Namibia – which were previously subject to the law. Entry prohibited due to the spread of the Omicron variant within their territory.

Two other countries also moved to the orange list. However, they were previously part of the Green List. The countries that have moved from the green list to the orange list are Australia and Argentina, reports.

In contrast to the countries listed above, the COVID-19 situation has worsened in Australia and Argentina. For this reason, the two countries were moved from the green list to the orange list.

This means that travelers from countries that have moved from the red list to the orange list will now be subject to less stringent entry rules upon arrival in France, while travelers from Argentina and Australia will have to follow additional entry rules.

All people entering France from a country on the Orange List are exempt from the requirements for self-isolation provided they hold a valid vaccination certificate.

In addition, everyone, even those who have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from the virus, must submit a negative test result taken within 48 hours before arriving in France.

On the other hand, unvaccinated travelers from an orange country must self-isolate for seven days upon arrival in France.

France also has a red list. The red list currently includes Afghanistan, Belarus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Georgia, Nigeria, Mauritius, Montenegro, Pakistan, Suriname, Tanzania, Turkey and the USA.

Fully vaccinated travelers from red-listed countries can currently enter Spain without restrictions provided they submit a pre-test. In contrast, unvaccinated travelers must self-quarantine for ten days upon entry.

As for the countries of the European Union and the Schengen area, they are all currently part of France’s green list, which means they can enter under the concessional entry rules, provided they meet all the necessary requirements.

Previously, France tightened its COVID-19 measures for everyone, including tourists. Furthermore, the authorities announced that everyone over the age of 18 will be required to receive a booster dose in order for the vaccination certificate to remain valid. This requirement applies to all who received the last dose of the vaccine more than seven months ago.

>> Explain new rules for travel from the UK to France

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No