Europe Travel News

Finland to Finally Allow Non-Essential Travel for Arrivals From EU/Schengen Area From June 21

Finnish authorities have announced that more flexible entry restrictions will be applied to arrivals from EU member states and Schengen area countries.

In a press release from the Finnish Interior Ministry, it was revealed that such a decision would apply to all citizens of EU/Schengen area countries, provided they have been vaccinated against COVID-19 with one of the approved vaccines or have tested negative within the past six months.

Thus, in line with the new amendments, travelers from the EU/Schengen area are allowed to enter Finland for non-essential purposes.

According to the ministry, the changes will be effective from June 21, reports.

In addition, the announcement by the Ministry of the Interior reveals that restrictions on traffic across the internal borders between Finland and other Schengen area countries will also be relaxed.

Based on the epidemiological situation prevailing in Poland and Hungary, Finland decided to cancel inspections at the internal borders of the two countries.

Moreover, entry restrictions do not apply to boat traffic between Finland and the following Schengen area countries: Belgium, Netherlands, Spain, Italy, Austria, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, France, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Denmark, Czech Republic and Estonia.

In turn, the government decided to extend internal border controls and restrictions on movement across external borders until July 11.

Permissible grounds for entry at border crossing points open to passenger traffic are the return of those living in Finland, another EU country or Schengen country, as well as other necessary grounds. However, non-Finnish citizens residing in another EU country European or Schengen countries do not have the right to return to their country of residence via Finland, with the exception of air traffic, if the transit is related to leisure travel, as stated in the ministry’s statement.

However, entry restrictions will be removed for those coming from Monaco, Romania and San Marino.

Besides the aforementioned countries, restrictions on Vatican City, Australia, South Korea, Singapore, Israel, New Zealand and Rwanda have already been lifted as these countries have reported low cases of COVID-19.

Due to the current situation of COVID-19, the authorities in the country continue to urge everyone to avoid non-essential travel to countries and regions severely affected by the disease.

Based on WHO figures, as of June 17, Finland has recorded 93,923 cases of coronavirus and 964 deaths.

Previously, it was reported that Finland is one of the countries behind in implementing the European passport for vaccination, as the country is still in the testing phase and has not yet started issuing and verifying digital passports for COVID-19.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No