Schengen Visa News

Finland Reinstates Entry Ban on Unvaccinated Travellers From Three More Third Countries

The Finnish authorities announced that from August 23, travelers from Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Canada will not be able to enter their territory if they have not been fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines accepted as valid proof of immunity. for travel.

Such a decision was made yesterday, August 19, after the government decided to change the entry restrictions for all people coming from a country outside the European Union or the Schengen area, and it will remain in place until September 19, reports.

“Entry restrictions imposed on residents of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Canada in traffic coming to Finland from these countries will be reinstated. The government adopted a decision to this effect on August 19, and the decision will take effect on August 23,” a statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said. interior.

According to the ministry, the three countries will now have to follow entry rules as they record increasing COVID-19 infections. In the past 24 hours, Albania recorded 477 new cases of COVID-19, Bosnia and Herzegovina recorded 420 new cases, and Canada reported 1,725 ​​new cases.

Following the decision, the same ministry confirmed that travelers from one of the three countries that have not been immunized against COVID-19 can only enter Finland if they meet one of the following conditions:

They return to Finland after residing in another country, return to another EU country/Schengen area, cross the territory of Finland, and enter Finland for essential purposes.

On the other hand, the ministry confirmed that vaccinated travelers coming from Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Canada can enter the country provided they provide proof of immunity with one of the vaccines listed below:

Pfizer / BioNTech (Comirnaty) Moderna (Spikevax) AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria) Johnson & Johnson (Janssen) Sinopharm BIBP AstraZeneca (Covishield – Serum Institute of India) Sinovac (CoronaVac)

>> What are the recognized COVID-19 vaccines for travel to Finland

Except for re-banning the three countries mentioned above, Finland made a similar decision last week as well, when the country’s authorities reimposed entry ban measures against all unvaccinated travelers from Kosovo and North Macedonia.

In addition, an entry ban has been imposed on unvaccinated travelers from Japan, Azerbaijan, Moldova, Singapore, Serbia and South Korea.

According to World Health Organization (WHO) figures, as of August 20, Finland has identified 118,866 cases of COVID-19, and the country has registered 1,008 cases associated with the virus.

>> Travel to Finland: Explanation of current entry rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No