Europe Travel News

Finland Prolongs Existing Entry Restrictions for Non-Vaccinated Travellers From Third Countries

Finnish authorities have decided to extend existing restrictions on travel from outside the European Union and the European Economic Area, which means that unvaccinated travelers from third countries are not eligible to enter the country, except for strictly necessary purposes.

When announcing the decision, the Finnish Interior Ministry indicated that vaccination coverage in the country is still not at the required level, and therefore there remains a risk that the Finnish healthcare system may not be able to cope with a further increase in the number of COVID-19 cases.

Restrictions on traffic across external borders will continue. The ministry explains that vaccination coverage is not sufficient in Finland, and there is still a risk that the health care system will be overrun.

Data from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) shows that 88% of the adult population in Finland has been vaccinated against COVID-19 with at least the first dose of the vaccine, while 82% of the adult population in the country has already been vaccinated. Fully vaccinated.

However, recently the situation in the country in terms of epidemic has deteriorated. The latest ECDC maps published in support of the EU’s recommendation on a harmonized approach to EU travel measures show Finland colored all red. This means that the country is in a situation where it is not recommended to travel to and entry restrictions are also advised for those coming from that country to other EU/Schengen countries.

World Health Organization data shows that Finland recorded 250 new cases of COVID-19 in the past 24 hours, bringing the total number of cases since the start of the pandemic to 161,688.

Lifting restrictions on unvaccinated travelers from Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru

The Finnish Interior Ministry also announced that following the decision of the Council of the European Union to add Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru to the EU’s list of epidemiologically safe third countries, the Finnish entry restrictions for residents of the four countries have been removed.

Currently, part of this list is also Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Jordan, Qatar, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates and Uruguay.

Travelers from the rest of the world who are not vaccinated remain subject to entry restrictions.

“If a person arriving from a restricted country has not been fully vaccinated, the acceptable reasons for entry are travel to return to Finland, return to other EU or Schengen countries, transit on regular or scheduled flights at an airport or other essential travel. Ministry explains.

Primary reasons include humanitarian travel, transport and logistics personnel during assignments, diplomats, personnel of international organizations, military personnel, humanitarian relief workers in the exercise of their duties, etc.

>> Travel to Finland: Explanation of the current entry rules

>> What are the recognized COVID-19 vaccines for travel to Finland

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No