Schengen Visa News

EUAA Publishes Report on EU Rapid Response to Assist Displaced Persons From Ukraine

On 4 March, the European Union Asylum Agency (EUAA) published a situation update on the war in Ukraine, describing the rapid response measures taken by the European Union and its member states to provide shelter and protection to more than one million Ukrainian citizens. They are already displaced from their country.

According to a press release issued on the same date regarding the report, the EUAA announced that this status update explains background information on the immediate measures taken to accommodate people displaced from Ukraine due to the deteriorating situation in the wake of the Russian occupation, reports.

In addition, this update is reviewed regularly as the situation evolves.

“While mobilizing resources to assist forcibly displaced people in Ukraine and neighboring countries, UNHCR has declared Ukraine a ‘Level 3 Emergency’ – the highest level available – as it is estimated that more than one million refugees have fled to neighboring countries since February 24, 2022, Read the statement.

The countries in which these measures have been adopted in accordance with the Urgent Action to enable immediate support to Ukrainian citizens in EU countries are:

Czech Republic Croatia Italy Romania Slovakia Latvia Poland Lithuania Estonia Greece Austria Ireland Hungary Belgium Norway

Due to the influx of refugees registered until March 4, the Czech government approved a program to assist Ukrainian citizens fleeing war, which allows for good coordination and technical solutions that facilitate the registration of Ukrainians, the conduct of security review, and the issuance of visas. .

Similarly, parliaments in Latvia and Norway have provided support to Ukrainian civilians and their family members leaving Ukraine.

As for the Croatian government, the state has established the Interdepartmental Working Group to carry out activities for the reception and care of refugees from Ukraine.

In addition, the Italian government declared a state of emergency until December 31, 2022, to provide relief and assistance to the Ukrainian population as a result of the ongoing serious international crisis.

Up to this point, due to the conflict in Ukraine, the Slovak government declared a state of emergency on February 26, 2022, in connection with the large influx of foreign nationals.

Meanwhile, emergency law was adopted in Romania to provide support and humanitarian aid from the Romanian state to foreign nationals or stateless persons in special cases.

Moreover, in Lithuania, a platform was created under the National Voluntary Support Coordination Center to coordinate bids and requests for support, and in Poland, the government launched the Humanitarian Aid Coordination Mechanism through which support will be provided by the State Agency for Strategic Reserves.

Greece allowed Ukrainian biometric passport holders and those without biometric features to enter through all entry points (land and air) for a maximum period of 90 days. Ireland also announced the immediate cancellation of visas between Ukraine and Ireland.

According to the authorities in Austria, in the absence of a biometric passport, Austria will issue a visa at embassies in Ljubljana or Bratislava or at the Consulate General in Munich and will also allow those who entered the country without a visa to get 90 days to fix it.

The same applies to Estonia, where, by decision of the Director General of the PBGB, Ukrainian citizens can enter Estonia without visas, even those who do not have a biometric passport.

Moreover, EU+ countries are removing Ukraine from the national lists of safe countries of origin, which means that Ukrainians are allowed to enter their territory without having to provide proof of protection, as they will automatically benefit from protection.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No