Europe Travel News

EU to Remove Ukraine From COVID-19 White List Next Week, Ukrainian MFA Says

The Council of the European Union is expected to remove Ukraine from the EU list of epidemiologically safe third countries next week, after an increase in the number of coronavirus cases in recent days on the territory of Ukraine.

The move was first announced by Radio Free Europe’s Europe editor Rikard Jozoyak on Twitter.

“EU ambassadors decided this morning to remove Ukraine from the EU’s recommended COVID-19 safe travel list, and it will be formalized early next week,” he wrote on Twitter.

Although such a thing has not yet been confirmed by the Council of the European Union, the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry has given a press release on the issue, confirming that such a thing will happen within days.

According to the same press release, the ambassadors of the European Union member states decided to remove Ukraine from the list on Friday, November 5. This means that member states are now advised to re-impose an entry ban on residents of Ukraine arriving in the EU for non-essential purposes, especially for those who are not vaccinated.

The EU Council is expected to issue a formal recommendation next week. At the same time, the final decision on the terms of non-essential (tourist) trips for Ukrainian citizens is taken by EU member states at the national level, ”explains the Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

It also notes that the temporary restrictions imposed by the European Union do not consist in canceling visa-free travel, but only apply to tourist travel.

It also calls on Ukrainian citizens to vaccinate and continue to comply with anti-epidemic requirements in order to further prevent the deterioration of the epidemic situation, which also affects freedom of movement.

The EU List of Epidemiologically Safe Third Countries is a list of non-EU/EEA countries that are considered safe amid the coronavirus pandemic due to low infection rates. Member states are strongly urged to gradually and partially reopen their borders to non-essential travel from these countries. However, they are not legally obligated to apply it.

The list was recently updated on October 29, adding Argentina, Colombia, Namibia, and Peru. Thus, to date, the list consists of the following countries: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Jordan, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru (new), Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea. Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates and Uruguay, as well as China, are subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Member states are also advised to remove travel bans for the special administrative regions of China, Hong Kong and Macau, as well as for Taiwan.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No