Schengen Visa News

EU to Reimpose Entry Ban on Travellers From US & 5 Other Third Countries on Monday, Sources Say

Two officials within the European Union institutions confirmed to Reuters that the Council of the European Union will announce on Monday its decision to remove a total of six countries from the list of third countries that are epidemiologically safe, including the United States.

Removal from the list means that member states are advised to reimpose entry bans on travelers from these countries so that they no longer qualify for unrestricted entry for non-essential purposes such as tourism and business.

According to Reuters, the decision to reimpose the entry ban on American travelers was made on Friday, August 27, but will only be officially announced on Monday, August 30. The full list of affected countries is as follows:

Israel Kosovo Lebanon Montenegro North Macedonia United States

All six recently reported an increase in the number of coronavirus cases detected within their territory.

In the United States, which has 328.2 million residents, a total of 381,58495 cases have been detected since the beginning of the epidemic, 169,512 of them during the past 24 hours, according to data from the World Health Organization.

While Israel, which has so far vaccinated about 80 percent of its population of 328.2 million, recorded 8,078 cases during the past 24 hours, bringing the number of infected people since the beginning of the epidemic to 1,031,810.

Due to the increase in the number of cases, reported days ago that Americans will be re-banned from entering the European Union for non-essential purposes.

The EU List of Epidemiologically Safe Third Countries is a list of non-EU/EEA countries considered safe amid the coronavirus pandemic due to low infection rates, and advises member states to reopen borders to non-essential travelers. from these areas.

The list is reviewed every two weeks, and member states are not legally obligated to implement it. On the other hand, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican residents are considered EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The first list was published on June 30, 2020, while it was last revised on July 15, 2021, when Ukraine was added to it.

Currently, it consists of the following 23 countries: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan

Bosnia, Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Montenegro, New Zealand, Qatar, Moldova, North Macedonia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine and the USA, as well as China, which are still subject to the reciprocity confirmation.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No