Europe Travel News

EU Removes Moldovan Airlines From EU Air Safety List, Adds a Russian Carrier

The European Commission has updated the list of airlines that are subject to operational restrictions or operational bans within the European Union because they do not meet international safety standards.

In line with the Commission’s aviation safety policy, the list, known as the European Union Aviation Safety List, aims to ensure the highest level of air safety for European citizens and all other passengers traveling to and from the European Union.

Therefore, in order to provide safety for all passengers, the Commission has adopted the new EU Air Safety List. According to the new update, all airlines approved in Moldova have been removed from the list.

This means that certain airlines from Moldova are now able to fly again to the European Union as they have demonstrated improvements in flight safety in the country, reports.

On the other hand, one Russian tanker was added to the list due to concerns about its ability to act in accordance with international standards.

“Maintaining the highest level of safety for all air travelers and individuals is a top priority. The EU Air Safety List continues to be one of our most effective tools to achieve this. I am particularly pleased that after two years of intense work, today we can remove all air carriers from Moldova from This list, opening the door for them to travel again to the European Union Transport Commissioner Adina Valian stated, “It shows that hard work and close cooperation is paying off.”

Except for ensuring high levels of safety in the European Union, the Air Safety List also helps airlines and affected countries improve their levels.

After the newly made update, 97 airlines are currently banned from the EU skies. More precisely, 90 certified airlines in 15 countries have been banned from the EU sky due to insufficient safety control by the aviation authorities of these countries.

Furthermore, the remaining seven carriers are individual airlines that have been banned due to serious safety deficiencies. This list includes:

Avior Airlines (Venezuela) Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname) Iran Airlines (Iran) Iraqi Airways (Iraq) Med View Airlines (Nigeria) School Airlines LLC (Russia) Zimbabwe Airlines (Zimbabwe)

In addition, two other airlines are currently subject to operational restrictions and are allowed to fly into the European Union with only certain aircraft types. These two airlines are Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).

>> ACI Europe says ultra-low-cost airlines are responsible for ‘huge losses’ that EU airports expect to face in 2022

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No