Europe Travel News

EU Removes 2 More Countries From Its White List- Advises Member States to Reimpose Restrictions

After reviewing the recommendation on the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union, the Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other regional entities and authorities whose travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular, Singapore and Ukraine were removed from the list.

Non-essential travel to the European Union from countries or entities not listed in Annex I is subject to temporary travel restrictions. This is without prejudice to the possibility for member states to lift temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travelers.

As provided in the Board’s recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.

Based on the criteria and conditions set forth in the Recommendation, as of November 9, 2021, Member States should gradually lift travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

Argentina Australia Bahrain Canada Chile Colombia Jordan Kuwait Namibia New Zealand Peru Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia South Korea United Arab Emirates Uruguay China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China, Hong Kong and Macao.

Within the category of regional entities and authorities not recognized as states by at least one member state, the travel restrictions imposed on Taiwan should also be gradually lifted.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered residents of the European Union for the purposes of this recommendation.

The criteria for determining the third countries from which current travel restrictions should be lifted were updated on May 20, 2021. They cover the epidemiological situation and the overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of available information and data sources. Reciprocity must also be taken into account on a case-by-case basis.

The associated Schengen states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) share this recommendation.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No