Schengen Visa News

EU Introduces Sanctions on 160 More Individuals Involved in Russia’s Military Aggression Against Ukraine

Taking into account the continuing, unjustified and unjustified Russian military aggression against Ukraine, the European Council announced that the EU authorities decided to impose restrictive measures on another 160 people.

Commenting on the new additions, the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell, revealed that the list will now include key individuals and their family members who have an important role in supporting the Putin regime, reports.

Today we are adding to our sanctions list more key individuals and their family members who play an important economic role in supporting the Putin regime and benefit financially from the regime. They are now subject to asset freezes and travel bans. Our message is clear: Those who made it possible to invade Ukraine pay for their actions,” Borrell said in a statement.

The council explained that the new list includes 14 prominent businessmen and oligarchs who are involved in the main economic sectors that provide a significant source of revenue for the Russian Federation, in particular in agriculture, mining, telecommunications, pharmaceutical and digital industries. Family members of these oligarchs and businessmen are also subject to restrictions.

The council indicated that “today’s decision complements the lists of the oligarchs involved in the oil and gas, banking, media and transportation sectors, which were decided by the council on February 23 and 28, 2022.”

Moreover, the list also includes 146 members of the Council of the Russian Federation, who have ratified government decisions on the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance between the Russian Federation and the Donetsk People’s Republic and the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance between the Russian Federation. Russian Federation and Luhansk People’s Republic.

With the new additions, the EU’s restrictive measures now apply to a total of 862 people and 53 entities. The restrictive measures include freezing the assets of all persons and entities that have been added or that have already been part of the list. In addition, EU citizens and companies are prohibited from making funds available to them.

Aside from the asset freeze, the restrictive measures also include travel bans, which means that those who are part of the list are not allowed to enter or transit through EU territory.

The Council emphasized that the European Union strongly condemns the unjustified and unjustified Russian aggression against Ukraine, as well as the involvement of Belarus in this aggression.

Since Belarus has been implicated in this aggression, the EU Commission has announced that the authorities have decided to introduce a SWIFT ban. This means that Belarusian banks that are part of the SWIFT bread system will now be subject to a ban.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No