Schengen Visa News

EU Imposes Sanctions on Additional 26 Persons & 1 Entity as a Response to Russia’s Military Aggression Against Ukraine

Yesterday, February 28, the Council of the European Union held a meeting to address the Russian military aggression against Ukraine.

During this meeting, the Council decided to add 26 Russian individuals and one Russian entity to the list of persons, entities and bodies that are now subject to restrictive measures.

According to the Council, such a decision was made because the actions of these individuals and entity undermined and threatened the integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine, reports.

The council revealed that the lists include businessmen and oligarchs active in the banking, oil and financial sectors. In addition, the lists also include government members, advocates and high-ranking military figures who contributed to spreading anti-Ukrainian propaganda and promoting a positive attitude towards the invasion of Ukraine.

Commenting on the decision, the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell, said that through these sanctions, the council aims to target all persons and entities that have an important role in supporting the Putin regime.

With these additional sanctions, we target everyone who plays a significant economic role in supporting the Putin regime and profiting financially from the regime. These sanctions will expose the wealth of Putin’s elite. Borrell’s statement said that those who enabled the invasion of Ukraine will pay for their actions.

The restrictive measures that now apply to a total of 680 Russian individuals and 53 entities include asset freezes and a ban on making funds available to them. In addition, the restrictive measures also include travel bans, which means that people on the list are prohibited from entering or passing through the territory of the European Union.

The Council further noted that the package of measures also includes the provision of equipment and supplies to the Armed Forces of Ukraine, a ban on overflying the airspace of the European Union and on the access of Russian carriers of all kinds to EU airports, as well as a ban on transactions with the Central Bank of Russia.

“The European Union condemns in the strongest terms the unjustified and unjustified military aggression of the Russian Federation against Ukraine. The Council stressed that Russia, through its illegal military actions, flagrantly violates international law and the principles of the Charter of the United Nations and undermines security and stability in Europe and the world.

Last week, the council also imposed sanctions on President Putin and Foreign Minister Lavrov. In addition, he adopted the same extensive individual and economic sanctions.

The European Union prohibits the supply, sale, transfer or export to Russia of certain goods and technologies in the field of oil refining. Moreover, Russian officials, diplomats and businessmen will not be able to take advantage of the visa facilitation provisions.

>> Invasion of Ukraine: These European countries have banned Russian Airlines from their airspace

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No