Europe Travel News

EU Health Agency Urges for Facilitated Entry Rules on Travellers From Spain, France, Malta & Italy

With the latest update of the COVID-19 map, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) revealed that the situation has improved significantly in Spain, France, Malta, Italy and many other EU countries and regions. However, some areas are still severely affected by the virus.

According to figures released by ECDC today, September 30, Malta, Poland and the Azores as well as regions of Spain, France and Italy have been colored green since they have registered fewer than 50 cases per 100,000 inhabitants and have tested positive at a positivity rate of less than four percent over the last 14 days.

This means that traveling to Malta, Poland, the Azores, and one of the following regions is no longer frustrating as long as travelers meet the countries’ rules and entry requirements:

Regions of Spain: Galicia, Castile and Leon, Navarra Regions of Italy: Sardinia and Abruzzo Region of France: Normandy

As a general rule, not all travelers arriving in other member states from one of the above-mentioned green countries or regions should be required to follow strict procedures. However, as each country decides on its own restrictions, entry rules may still apply against travelers from green-listed countries and regions.

In addition, the same revealed that the entire territory of France, except for Normandy, and several regions of Spain and Italy, is now colored orange because it has had low infection rates recently, reports.

The list of regions that are now part of the orange list is as follows:

Regions of Italy: Sicily, Basilicata Regions of Spain: Andalusia, Murcia, Valencia, Cantabria, Basque Country of Poland: Podlaski

Therefore, travel to and from France as well as the other regions mentioned above is no longer undesirable.

However, those who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the coronavirus may be subject to strict entry restrictions. For this reason, it is recommended that everyone check the entry rules of the country they are planning to visit before leaving.

On the contrary, the ECDC suggested that the strict rules should apply to Germany, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, Austria and Croatia as they are part of the Red List. Lublin, Poland, has also been added to the Red List.

Moreover, the European Union’s health agency has advised that everyone refrain from travel to and from Lithuania, Estonia and Slovenia as countries are colored dark red after more than 500 cases of infection were identified per 100,000 inhabitants in the past two weeks.

However, if someone has to travel for absolutely necessary reasons from a country on the dark red list, member states are advised to enforce testing and quarantine rules to avoid further spread of the disease.

>> Italy, Spain, France, Greece and Croatia are the best European destinations for short term travel

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No