Schengen Visa News

EU Extends Sanctions Over Russia’s Illegal Annexation of Crimea & City of Sevastopol by 1 Year

The Council of the European Union decided to renew the sanctions imposed by the European Union in response to Russia’s illegal annexation of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol for one year.

Such a decision was made today, June 20, and the sanctions will remain in place until June 23, 2023, reports.

The current restrictive measures that apply to Russia were first introduced on June 14, and have been continuously extended since then.

The restrictive measures include a ban targeting imports of products from Crimea or Sevastopol that have been illegally annexed to the European Union. In addition, the prohibitions target infrastructure investments and tourism services.

Moreover, exports of certain technologies and goods to Crimean companies or for use in Crimea that were illegally annexed in the transport, energy and communications sectors for exploration and production of gas, oil and mineral resources are also subject to EU restrictions.

The High Representative for Foreign Affairs, Josep Borrell, previously said in his declaration on behalf of the European Union on February 25, 2022, that the European Union does not recognize and continues to condemn the illegal annexation of Crimea.

“The European Union remains steadfast in its commitment to Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders and is dedicated to the full implementation of the non-recognition policy,” the council said in a statement.

The latter notes that Russia has further violated sovereignty and territorial integrity through its unjustified and unjustified war aggression against Ukraine, which the European Union continues to condemn in the strongest possible terms.

The EU authorities are urging Russia to immediately cease its attacks against civilians and civilian infrastructure. In addition, it also urges Russia to immediately and unconditionally withdraw all its forces and military equipment from all the territory of Ukraine.

The European Union is unwavering in its commitment to helping Ukraine exercise its inherent right to self-defense against Russian aggression and to build a peaceful, democratic and prosperous future. It also remains committed to further strengthening Ukraine’s ability to defend its territorial integrity and sovereignty.”

The European Union recently imposed restrictive measures on an additional 65 individuals and 18 entities in response to Russia’s aggression against Ukraine. The EU’s restrictive measures apply to a total of 1,158 people and 98 entities. Designated persons are subject to a travel ban, which means that they cannot enter or transit through the territory of the European Union. In addition, they are also subject to an asset freeze.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No