Schengen Visa News

EU Council Removes Argentina, Australia & Canada From Safe Third Countries List

By updating the list of countries from which travel restrictions should be lifted, the Council of the European Union decided to remove Argentina, Australia and Canada from it and, accordingly, advised member states to re-impose travel restrictions on travelers from these three countries.

The Council has updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other regional entities and authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular, Argentina, Australia and Canada were removed from the list,” the council said in a statement.

The decision to reinstate entry rules comes in the wake of the increasing infection rates recorded in these countries. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), Argentina has reported 877,424 new cases in the past seven days.

During the same period, Australia reported 511,267 new cases, and Canada reported 262,710 new cases, reports.

Under the council’s previous recommendation, travelers from Argentina, Australia and Canada could travel to EU member states without being subject to strict entry restrictions.

However, in line with the new update, the above three countries will not be considered epidemiologically safe, and therefore, travelers from these regions will have to follow the entry rules upon arrival in the member states, provided the recommendation is adopted.

Since each member state of the European Union has the right to decide on its own rules of entry, travelers from Argentina, Australia and Canada may face different entry rules depending on the country of destination.

Currently, all EU countries require travelers to present a valid vaccination certificate indicating that its holder has been fully immunized against the virus. Certificates proving that the carrier has recovered from the virus are also recognized.

Except for having to present one of the above certificates, travelers from third countries not on the safe list may also be required to take an entry test. However, the rules differ from country to country and each traveler’s vaccination status.

In contrast, travelers from countries that are still part of the EU’s list of safe third countries will still be able to travel to member states without being subject to strict entry rules.

After the new update, the list of safe third countries now includes:

Bahrain Chile Colombia Indonesia Kuwait New Zealand Peru Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia South Korea United Arab Emirates Uruguay China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Previously, reported that all EU/Schengen area countries are still severely affected by the COVID-19 disease. For this reason, everyone is advised to avoid making any unnecessary trips during this period.

Editor’s Choice:

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No