Schengen Visa News

EU Commission Welcomes Council’s Decision to Facilitate Travel Rules for Third-Country Travellers

The European Commission has welcomed the Council’s decision to approve a proposal to ease travel rules into the European Union for travelers from third countries, which was submitted at the end of 2021.

The new regulation advises member states to reopen their borders to non-EU citizens who are fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by the World Health Organization (WHO), which includes the following:

AstraZeneca Vaccine / Oxford Johnson and Johnson Moderna Pfizer / Biontech Sinopharma Sinovac Covaxin Kovofax Novaxovid

The main rule for fully vaccinated travelers to the EU remains basic vaccination. According to the updated framework, vaccinated travelers will be allowed entry if they received their last dose of initial vaccination at least 14 days before travel to the EU and no more than 270 days before arrival. Those with a booster dose will be able to freely enter the area, reports.

Redemption certificates will also be recognized as valid for entry if they are issued within 180 days before reaching the 27-country block. In addition, the European Union Commission has made travel rules easier for take-back certificate holders as they can now be issued based on a positive rapid antigen test instead of a PCR test, which is more expensive.

The framework also notes that children under the age of six traveling with an adult should not have any testing requirements.

>> EU lifts ban on non-essential travel for vaccinated and recovered travelers from third countries from 1 March

Those with an essential reason to travel, EU nationals and their family members, will still be able to travel to the EU, provided they have been fully vaccinated but should expect additional measures depending on which EU country they are traveling to.

EU member states now have to implement and apply the changes in a coordinated manner. The Commission will review the Council’s recommendation by 30 April this year with a view to moving fully to a people-based approach,” the EU Commission press release said.

While the European Union determines every two weeks the countries on the EU list, which are allowed to travel, travelers from the following third countries will be able to enter the region under the concessional rules because they are part of the European Digital COVID-19 Certificate Portal:

Albania Andorra Armenia Benin Cabo Verde El Salvador Faroe Islands Georgia Israel Iceland Jordan Lebanon Liechtenstein Moldova Monaco Montenegro Morocco New Zealand North Macedonia Norway Panama San Marino Serbia Singapore Switzerland Taiwan Thailand Tunisia Togo Turkey Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom Uruguay Vatican

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No