Europe Travel News

EU Advises Member States to Remove Entry Ban for Residents of Argentina, Colombia, Namibia & Peru

The Council of the European Union recommended that member states lift the ban on non-essential travel from Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru as soon as possible.

The recommendation was issued on Friday, October 29, following a revision of the EU’s list of epidemiologically safe third countries, to which the four countries have been added.

“Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union, the Council has updated the list of countries, special administrative regions, other entities and regional authorities whose travel restrictions should be lifted,” the Council noted in a press release announcing the new additions. to the list.

“In particular, Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru have been added to the list,” she added.

WHO data shows that the four countries have recorded a low number of COVID-19 cases in recent days.

In Namibia, for example, which has 2.541 million residents, only nine new cases have been recorded in the past 24 hours. While 793 new cases were recorded in Peru, which has a population of 32.97 million.

According to Argentina and Colombia, both of which have larger populations – 45.38 million and 50.88 million respectively – the number of registered cases is 1,415 and 1,428 in the last 24 hours.

According to the Council of the European Union, member states are now strongly advised to remove entry restrictions to the following countries:

Argentina (new) Australia Bahrain Canada Chile Colombia (new) Jordan Kuwait Namibia (new) New Zealand Peru (new) Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia Singapore South Korea Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

The council says travel bans should also be lifted for special administrative regions in China, Hong Kong and Macau, as well as for Taiwan.

However, since the list is not legally binding, member states are free to remove entry restrictions at external borders for residents of countries not listed above or to impose restrictions on arrivals from the countries listed above.

Prior to the October 29 update, the council had updated the list on October 8, adding Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates. Before that, on September 23, the council advised member states to remove entry restrictions on residents of Chile, Kuwait and Rwanda and re-impose restrictions on travelers from Moldova and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No