Schengen Visa News

Estonia Tightens Entry Rules for EU Arrivals & Introduces Quarantine for Travellers From Southern African Region

Estonian authorities have imposed stricter entry rules on European member states, as the number of positive cases rose across the 27-nation bloc.

According to the latest risk assessment, only travelers from Vatican City, which is currently the only country in the green category, are allowed to enter Estonian territory without testing and quarantine requirements, reports.

Moreover, the yellow category consists of Romania, Spain and Sweden – non-vaccinated arrivals for whom countries must submit a negative test before arriving in the country. If travelers do not submit a pre-departure test, they must take the test upon arrival. However, entry quarantine requirements do not apply to yellow category countries.

However, non-immunized arrivals from the remaining EU member states are required to undergo quarantine upon arrival in Estonia, with the possibility of ending isolation by taking a test on the sixth day. In addition, arrivals from these countries must either submit a pre-departure test or take a test upon arrival in the Baltic state.

Regarding third countries, at the moment, only those from the following regions can enter Estonia without quarantine and testing requirements:

Argentina Australia Bahrain Colombia Indonesia Kuwait New Zealand Peru Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia Taiwan United Arab Emirates

These countries are classified in this category due to their low infection rates. Taiwan has the lowest infection rate of 100,000 people over a 14-day period (0.42), and Australia has the highest infection rate among these countries (68.15).

In addition, the same entry requirements apply to nationals of third countries from the red category, except that the isolation time cannot be shortened. The red category of third countries consists of Canada with 99.69 positive cases per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks, Chile with 170,53, South Korea (84,70), and Uruguay (81,38).

Furthermore, since December 1, all people entering Estonia from countries identified as being at high risk for Omicron COVID variant dispersal such as South Africa, Botswana, Malawi, Lesotho, Eswatini (Swaziland), Namibia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Egypt and Turkey, are required to undergo self-isolation for ten days. Upon arrival.

Fully vaccinated travelers who were previously infected with COVID-19 are exempt from this requirement if they take a test upon arrival in Estonia.

On the other hand, unvaccinated people should be subject to quarantine but may reduce their ten-day self-isolation period if they submit one test with a negative result upon arrival in Estonia and another no later than the sixth day after the on-arrival test. Until a negative test result is released, the traveler must remain in isolation.

According to the data of the World Health Organization (WHO), 3,434 positive cases of COVID-19 and 27 deaths were recorded in Estonia during the past seven days.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No