Schengen Visa News

Estonia Imposes Stricter Entry Requirements for Arrivals From Other European Countries

After the epidemiological situation in other European countries, the authorities in Estonia imposed stricter entry conditions for those coming from regions severely affected by the Corona virus and its new variants.

Currently, only the Vatican City state has been considered by the authorities in Estonia as a safe area in terms of the COVID-19 case, which is still on the green list, while Romania is considered a medium-risk area. All other EU and Schengen zone territories are included in the red list, which consists of countries that have recently reported high rates of COVID-19, reports.

Authorities in Estonia continue to classify other regions into several categories, such as green, yellow and red, taking into account their COVID-19 situation.

According to the statement published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, only the Holy See is a safe area, as it has recently reported a small number of cases of COVID-19.

Green List countries are exempt from entry requirements upon arrival in the Baltic state, such as a negative COVID-19 test result or quarantine requirements.

The same ministry also announced that the yellow list, which consists of medium-risk regions in terms of the case of COVID-19 at the moment, includes only Romania, which means that Romanians who have not completed the immunization process against the Corona virus are obliged to apply. A negative COVID-19 test result before arriving in Estonia.

If travelers do not provide a pre-departure test, they must take the test upon arrival.

However, travelers from the yellow-listed countries are not required to follow quarantine rules upon arrival in the Baltic region.

Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs also announced that a large number of countries are currently on the red list, meaning that arrivals from these regions are subject to a COVID-19 test on entry if they have not taken a test before.

In addition, entrants from the Red List are required to follow a ten-day quarantine requirement, which can be shortened by taking another COVID-19 test after the sixth day of self-isolation, and the result is negative.

However, authorities in Estonia have announced that people with a valid vaccination certificate are not required to follow additional entry requirements.

Estonia’s Red List consists of the following regions:

Andorra Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Czech Republic Cyprus Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Hungary Ireland Iceland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal San Marino Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland United Kingdom

According to figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Estonia has recorded a total of 227,446 cases of COVID-19 since the beginning of the pandemic, while 1,845 people have died.

WHO figures also show that in the past seven days, 3,251 cases of COVID-19 were reported in Estonia, while 35 people died during the same period.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No