Europe Travel News

Estonia Imposes Additional Entry Rules for Unvaccinated Travellers From Portugal, France, Finland & Monaco

Estonia imposes additional entry rules for unvaccinated travelers from Portugal, France, Finland and Monaco

Estonian authorities have announced that from Monday, November 29, Portugal, France, Finland and Monaco will join the list of countries considered highly vulnerable to the COVID-19 pandemic as they have identified increasing cases.

Last week, Portugal, France, Finland and Monaco were part of the yellow list. However, as the COVID-19 situation has worsened in these areas, it will now be moved to the Red List and will be subject to stricter entry rules.

Based on World Health Organization (WHO) data, Portugal has reported 18,161 new cases of infection in the past seven days. During the same period, France reported 162,391 new cases, Finland 6,524 new cases, and Monaco 133 new cases.

Therefore, due to increased infection rates, unvaccinated and unwell travelers arriving in the Baltic state from one of these regions will be required to take a COVID-19 test upon entry if they have not been tested beforehand, reports.

In addition, everyone without a valid vaccination or recovery certificate will be required to self-isolate for ten days. However, the period of self-isolation can be shortened by taking another coronavirus test after the sixth day of quarantine.

“If a person has a negative test certificate, the test will not be required when entering the country. The ministry clarified that if the person wishes to reduce the time of self-isolation, a second test should be taken no later than the sixth day after the test on which the negative test certificate is based.

On the other hand, the same emphasized that entry restrictions do not apply to travelers from red-listed countries who have completed the vaccination process as well as those who have recovered from the virus.

Except for newly added territories, Estonia’s Red List currently includes all of the following EU/Schengen area countries:

Andorra Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Czech Republic Cyprus Denmark Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Netherlands Norway Poland Romania San Marino Slovakia Slovenia Switzerland United Kingdom

At the same time, through the same update, it was revealed that Spain will move from the green list to the yellow list.

This means that Spanish citizens who are not immunized and who are not exempt are subject to testing rules when entering Estonia. In contrast, vaccinated and non-vaccinated travelers are excluded from this rule.

Aside from Spain, three other countries – Italy, Malta and Sweden – are also part of the yellow list.

As for the green list, it consists of the Vatican State only. Travelers from this region are allowed unrestricted entry into Estonia, regardless of vaccination or recovery status.

>> Everything you need to know about traveling to Estonia amid COVID-19

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No