Schengen Visa News

Denmark Imposes Testing Requirement for Unvaccinated Travellers From 6 More EU Countries

From August 28, unvaccinated travelers and those without a refund certificate coming from Bulgaria, Austria, Germany, Sweden, Slovenia and Liechtenstein are required to take a PCR test after entering the country, Danish authorities announced.

This change comes after high rates of coronavirus infection in these countries, forcing Danish authorities to move countries from green to yellow in order to prevent the virus from spreading further, reports.

In the previous assessment, Denmark added to its yellow list several regions of Italy and Switzerland as well as several third countries, including red countries such as South Africa and the United Kingdom.

However, there are many areas in these yellow-ranked countries now that remain in the green list, as the following list indicates:

Germany: Schleswig-Holstein Sweden: Southern Sweden, Western Sweden Austria: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria

Other countries remaining on Denmark’s green list include:

Croatia Latvia Poland Romania Slovakia Czech Republic Hungary

Travelers who have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from the virus, coming from green countries and regions, are exempt from pre-departure testing and quarantine time and from testing requirements on arrival.

>> Traveling to Denmark amid COVID-19: Rules and Restrictions Explained

The country has stopped classifying countries in its red and orange list, which means that no country is currently considered to be at high risk for coronavirus transmission. However, the Danish authorities continue to advise against non-essential travel.

Travel to Denmark is made particularly easy due to the EU COVID-19 Digital Vaccination Passport, a document that is issued to all those who have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from the virus.

Denmark, along with Germany, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Greece and Croatia were among the first countries to successfully connect to the EU’s DCC portal in June, one month ahead of the deadline set by EU authorities.

The document is issued in digital and paper format to those who have recovered from COVID-19, and exempts them from the requirement to quarantine when traveling in the European Union for a period of 180 days.

Those who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19, are also exempt from quarantine and testing requirements, only if they have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency, as the following list indicates:

Comirnaty Pfizer-BioNTech from BioNTech Manufacturing GmbH Spikevax, formerly Moderna from Moderna Biotech Spain, SL Vaxzvria, formerly AstraZeneca by AstraZeneca Ab Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) by Janssen – Cilag International NV

Although many European countries have recognized other vaccines, the Danish authorities do not budge on their decision and continue to recognize only EMA-authorized vaccines to allow travelers to enter the country.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No